AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2009, 09:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
If you're grabbing an AMD, grab this setup:

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

The onboard should be fine for the TV, it all depends on what resolution it supports.
+1 for that combo, it's a good motherboard.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 01:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

FYI on cheap processors: This competes (Maybe)
This is a first time post for me, and I wanted to say that newegg has the newer AMD 64x2 ADV6000dobox 65nm running at 3.1 GHZ with great reviews. Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 3.1GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops The only thing is the short 1MB cashe which I suspect will effect performance somewhat. I have a Dell system (My last) and overclocking is not available in their BIOS. Bummer for sure.
__________________

regalwhiskey is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 02:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

This will give you better performance than the X2 7750:
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

It's been proven that it beats a 7750 even with overclock:
bit-tech.net | Review - Athlon X2 7750 vs. Intel E5200 OC & Value
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

I would say go with a cheaper intel core 2 duo, any mATX board you want and an ATI card, either 3k or 4k series as they will give you the best HD video decoding, much better then comparable nVidia cards. There are nvidia cards that will do the decoding but it will cost you quite a bit more. The thing is the 3k/4k ATI cards actually do the decoding on the gpu, taking the load off of the cpu, so you can in reality just buy the cheapest cpu you want and you'll be fine. If you can find it over there i'd recommend something like this.

Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E1200 1.6GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - ZOTAC NF610I-E-E LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 7050 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
-or something comparable, as it doesn't need to be a top of the line mobo, just something that is socket lga775 and will support pci-e-

Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H345F256NS Radeon HD 3450 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
and something like that.

won't cost you much over 100 USD, dunno what it would look like over in your neck of the world, but that's what I would look into.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 02:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

wow,

i don't expect that there are so many options out there!! I'll certainly look into those options )

@peter.cort

so ATI does better on decoding HD material than nVidia? I have so far only used nVidia GeForce 7100GS on my office PC running on core2duo 4400 @ 2.00GHz, and the other one at home with the older P4 2.8GHz - AGP slot (forgot the type), so i'm not really familiar with ATI products.
peter_ming is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 06:03 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

At newegg the E5200 cost only $72.99
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

hi,

I just checked my home pc config and it goes like this:

P4 2.8GHz
Gigabyte GA-8VM800M-775
Via P4M00/8237R
Graphic card nVidia GeForce FX 5500 256mb
RAM 1.2 GM
Maxtor 80 GB + 250 GB

What can I do to upgrade the performance, especially in terms of HD video decoding (no games for me)?
peter_ming is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 11:13 AM   #18 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

If you want to keep that system going. Then this will do just fine for video decoding:
Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H365F512ANP Radeon HD 3650 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 11:16 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter_ming View Post
thanks for the input, I think I'll go with Athlon X2 (either a 6000+ or 6400+, I can't find a 7750 yet).

Now on with the mobo, do I need to have separate or onboard VGA card? I'll connect it to my 42" LCD running on Full HD, so can onboard VGA handle this well? I don't do games, photoshops, or overclock (can't understand it so rather not risk it).

Some thoughts after searching the web:
Newegg.com - ASRock ALiveNF7G-FullHD R3.0 AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 7050 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
or
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA74GM-S2H AM2+/AM2 AMD 740G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

For optical drive I'll stick with DVD rom for now, but will probably upgrade to Blu-Ray in the future. If the onboard VGA does'nt support Blu-Ray, can I upgrade the add-on VGA in the future? Or I have to totally redo the mobo?

Any suggestion will be appreciated.
Peter
I'd use a DVI port and a onboard card. preferably the PCIe x 16
if the Mobo has the slot.
regalwhiskey is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
The X3 series was kind of a flop. The x2 7750 can probably outperform it, and will be cheaper. The die shrink to 65nm is part of it.
They're the same basic architecture, and both are 65nm.

If you went with a 780G or 790GX motherboard, that will do your HD decoding and you won't have to get a dedicated video card (780G is essentially an integrated 3450).
If all you're doing is running a media centre, it won't matter much what CPU you have when the GPU does the decoding. You could just use an X2 BE-2300.

Just get 2GB+ of RAM (RAM is cheap) and it'll be quite responsive - paging file is actually one of the things that causes the biggest performance hits.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my system. AMD fanatic... Intel?? Jayce System Upgrades 3 09-27-2008 09:54 PM
AMD or Intel? justfitz New Systems | Building and Buying 148 09-10-2008 09:28 AM
reviews of many AMD and Intel CPUs using 4870 x2!! Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-03-2008 07:19 AM
AMD vs Intel BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 41 06-15-2008 04:28 AM
CPU: AMD 6400+ vs Intel E6550 ChingChong23 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-30-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.