AMD Athlon 64 X2 Question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2008, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default AMD Athlon 64 X2 Question?

Which CPU would be the absolute best in AMD to go with for gaming?
Here is the link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc..._-NA-_-NA-_-NA

Any adivce will be taken into consideration.
__________________

amdslayer87 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 08:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Question?

What motherboard are you using? But if you had to choose the 5400+ is great for an AMD CPU, only problem is you'll need a after market cooler.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 06:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Question?

Yeah, any OEM processor will need a heatsink, as it comes without one.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Question?

You can always get the normal X2 5400+ if you want. It probably will not over clock as high as the black edition. But at least it comes with a heat sink, even though its priced the same. You could overclock it to about 3~3.2ghz and you really notice any bottle necking in games at those clock speeds.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ Brisbane 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel vs. AMD Athlon wootwoot System Upgrades 11 08-14-2008 01:52 PM
amd processpr question mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-11-2008 12:42 AM
AMD Athlon ann john System Upgrades 0 08-01-2008 05:04 AM
AMD's Hector Ruiz Jumps Sinking Ship Puddle Jumper Polls 5 07-21-2008 08:12 PM
AMD Build Iokewe New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-25-2008 01:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.