AMD Athlon 64 bit Processors + New system building advice - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 08:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Ok, so I have decided to get this CPU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562 (the AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2), can you guys recommend me a good motherboard to pair with it? Or is there not much difference between the socket 939's and I just choose one that fits my needs?

I also need recommendations on memory, probably need 1 gb, and a case and reliable power supply to keep the CPU happy. Also, does the CPU come with a heatsink or do I need to get one too?

One last thing, does the 6600GT video card support dual monitors? It does come with a DVI and a VGA port, but will it do it? Will it come with directions to configure a dual monitor setup?
__________________

Shocker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 08:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Motherboard to go with X2 3800+ = DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D

Memory = 2 x 512MB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2

Eh, I suck with cases.

Power Supply = Antec SmartPower 500W 37A on Dual +12v rails.

As for DVI...I'll leave that to someone else.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 08:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Oh yea, cheaper Power Supply.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 11:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
One last thing, does the 6600GT video card support dual monitors? It does come with a DVI and a VGA port, but will it do it? Will it come with directions to configure a dual monitor setup?
Yes, it does. In fact, with that exact vid card, I currently am running 2 monitors.

And yes, the help files have more than enough info to get dual monitors setup. Even without instructions, its not that hard.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 05:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Ok, after much research in Newegg's reviews, here's what I am going to get unless you guys say otherwise. Just wondering, will the SLI mobo be a problem with my other parts. It seems to be a pretty popular mobo, for a good price too.

Tell me what you guys think

NZXT case $80
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146015

AMD 64 3800+ X2 dual core $335
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

Gigabyte GeForce 6600GT $145
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125156

ASUS Motherboard $129
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...24#DetailSpecs

OCZ 1GB RAM $165
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890

Aspire 520W PSU $60
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008
Shocker is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103924

get that power supply, only like $30 more, and it is much better

WHY ASUS?!?!? dont get asus with amd, get DFI or MSI

everything else looks good.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:54 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ya, don't skimp on the Powersupply. Cheapos....
Ste is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Judging by that motherboard, you aren't looking to do any major overclocks. If you arent going to be overclocking, just go with valueram. For more info on such things, look at my guide to RAM, look at my guide at the top of this section.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103924

get that power supply, only like $30 more, and it is much better

WHY ASUS?!?!? dont get asus with amd, get DFI or MSI

everything else looks good.
What's wrong with the ASUS mobo? I just went to the reviews of the CPU I'm getting and it seems like many people with the dual core AMD 64's are using that board.
__________________

Shocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.