AMD Athlon 64 754 pin - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Default AMD Athlon 64 754 pin

I have Windows XP on my system and I want to know what steps have to be taken for it to run a 64bit processor.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amd athlon 64 logo.jpg (6.8 KB, 43 views)
__________________

Zerohero2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

well, do you even have an athlon 64? If you want XP to be working in 64-bit, you need XP x64. but the only way for it to work is if you have a 64-bit Pentium or Athlon.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes, you need a 64 bit operating system to use your processor in 64 bit mode.

However it will run fine in a 32 bit operating system, like what you have now.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 754 pin

Quote:
Originally posted by Zerohero2
I have Windows XP on my system and I want to know what steps have to be taken for it to run a 64bit processor.
Nothing has to be done...you just hook it up and go about your business.
rkf76 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks Guys.
Zerohero2 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 08:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

WARNING: A lot of programs designed for Windows XP wont always work on the 64-bit edition. But if you want all of your processor power then you'll have to go with the 64-bit edition
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd64Boy
WARNING: A lot of programs designed for Windows XP wont always work on the 64-bit edition. But if you want all of your processor power then you'll have to go with the 64-bit edition
True story. It's kinda like using a Subaru WRX STi for a drag racer when it has superior handling abilities that aren't being taken advantage of
__________________

__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.