AMD Athlon 64 3800: Venice or Winsdor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to xfatalherox
Default AMD Athlon 64 3800: Venice or Winsdor?

Hey guys right now i wanna buy an AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Socket 939 CPU but I'm confused by the core names. I have narrowed it down to two: Venice or Winsdor? Which one should I get, and why? How much of a difference is there between them?
__________________

__________________
xfatalherox is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

well... for really cheap.. like 60 dollars more i think it is.. you can get a 3800 x2 manchestor instead...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Windsor it socket AM2 dual core. (90nm 512KB Cache)

Venice is single core socket 939. (90nm 512KB Cache)
__________________
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.