AMD 3000 or 3200? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2005, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default AMD 3000 or 3200?

Will I experience much of a difference(socket 939)? I found the 3000 for 125$ off monarch computers, but the 3200 isn't much more, being 155$.
Here's the deal, today I'm going to buy a case, motherboard, cpu, and possibly memory. Right now I only have 512mb memory, and I would like much more.
So since I'm on a budget, I can either get the 3000 and corsair 1gig memory
or 3200 and wait a while for memory

Main question - will I experience a large difference?
Thank you
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

will you be overclocking?

i would get the 3200 now even though its 20 or so bucks higher, its worth it ... the ram will always be there..
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Okay, but when I play games, I'll only have 512mb of ram until I upgrade. Will this slow things down a lot?
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

3200+. You should be ok with the 512, but I would upgrade immedialtlety to 1GB
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

It depends what games you play. If you're into the newer games like BF2 and FEAR, then yeah, you'll definately notice a difference with the RAM. I have my 3000+ overclocked to 2.5Ghz on stock cooling, which is just a bit faster than the 3800+ Venice. Both processors overclock well, but if you really want to be gaming as soon as possible, I say go with the 3000+ and the extra RAM.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

The difference between the 3000 and the 3200 is like $15-$20 dont forget.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Nevermind, I convinced my parents to let me buy the 3200 and ram
But with this being said, that means I COULD get the motherboard I want and a 3700, and get memory later.
Yes/no?
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

all up to how much your willing to spend (or whoever is supplying the money) and just make sure it all fits
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

The 3700 would be a good buy cause it has 1mb L2 cache
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

That is true, but that also means no ram for a while.
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.