AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2007, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Default AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

I have an amd athlon 2400 processor with only 224 MB of memory on it... I need more memory! Can anyone tell me which memory stick I need to buy, or at least point me in the right direction?
__________________

__________________
Acts 10:42 The One Has Come
theone_trent is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

What kind of motherboard you got... and are you running windows 2000??

Are you using your comp for general purposes? Web browsing and stuff?
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

I'm not sure what kind of motherboard I have, but I have an XP.

I'm using general purposes now, but I'm wanting to buy World of Warcraft and play it. My brother-in-law and sister got me hooked on it and I want to be able to play it on my computer.
__________________
Acts 10:42 The One Has Come
theone_trent is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 05:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

Alright, if my guess is right, this should be fine, 2 of these would suffice

Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Retail

Although wait for a second oppinion... idk if its an old enough proc to be on a mobo that would take 168 pin modules.

Also, are you using a graphics card? or onboard?

WoW doesnt take much, but your comp seems dated, when did you get it?
saladfork is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

My wife's comp has a 2000+ and can use those. So long as they are DDR you should be fine.

I doubt your mobo will be able to use them at full speed, though. It will just downclock them to its maximum... they will still work.

Oh, I popped a stick of gig in her computer. No worries.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 07:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

512MB stick
1GB stick

a gaming machine with XP runs best with 1-2GB RAM
it can run fine with 512MB though, but you'll probably need a significant amount of paging file.

And forget Vista for gaming unless you have at least 1GB RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

Are you sure it's not PC2100 for my computer? My brother-in-law said that I should get a PC2100, but I wanted a second opinion before I did get one.
__________________
Acts 10:42 The One Has Come
theone_trent is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

PC2100 is probably what it has. you can use faster DDR RAM, but it will only run at 2100 speed. DDR400 is usually cheaper than PC2100.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

you can use Crucials scanner and find out what memory type you have, and alternatives to update. Is a great way to see what you need, but their prices are a bit high. look and then search elsewhere.

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - Determine My Memory Needs
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 01:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: AMD 2400 Processor Needs More Memory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjheero_yuy99 View Post
you can use Crucials scanner and find out what memory type you have, and alternatives to update. Is a great way to see what you need, but their prices are a bit high. look and then search elsewhere.

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - Determine My Memory Needs
That is a beautiful site lol, I didnt know my laptop could take pc4200 X]

ANd heres this Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 266 (PC 2100) Desktop Memory - Retail

its a few bucks cheaper than the kingston set.
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
USB Flash Memory Drive Insectduel Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-19-2007 02:44 PM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.