AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

If I have a AM2 board with 4 slots can you mix memory? For example below I pasted a few descriptions for RAM, what does dual channel mean exactly in the forst one compared to the second one that does not mention dual channel?

Could I mix the two stick or different speeds like 1 or 2, and 3?

Would 2gb of 1 and 2gb of 4 work together?


1. G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

2. G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory

3. Crucial 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory - OEM

4. OCZ Platinum Revision-2 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Dual Channel Memory (2 x 1024MB)
__________________

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

basically, dual channel doubles the bandwidth availible to the ram.
you can mix it, yes.
if you mix ddr2 800 and ddr2 677, it will run it all at ddr2 667, the slowest speed.
you can mix speed, but i would keep it all the same. mixing brands is no big deal if the voltage required is the same.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

Thanks for the info.

Do most AM2 mobo's support dual channel or is that something I need to watch for in the specs?
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. LL View Post
Thanks for the info.

Do most AM2 mobo's support dual channel or is that something I need to watch for in the specs?
More motherboards out today should support DDR2.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

all am2 mobos will support dual channel ddr2 800.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AM2 MOBO, need help with memory info...

Cool thanks for the help, hopefully "Cyber Monday" will be bountiful for me and I can get all my stuff.
__________________

Mr. LL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition , Need Memory zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-10-2007 02:51 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 09:39 PM
Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect? Hookster264 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-10-2007 12:08 PM
Memory or Mobo help needed cbo0485 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-30-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.