Am I missing something? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2011, 04:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Am I missing something?

Just because a few lights turn on doesn't mean the power supply is good. The power supply generates +3.3v, +5v, +12v, -12v and +5vsb.

The +5vsb is +5v standby. As in, this is the power for the lights while the computer is turned off or standing by.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 07:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Am I missing something?

Bent CPU pins will stop it from starting up, that is, if they got bent when going in.... If you bent them when removing the CPU, well, that's another story. BTW, less thermal paste, too much causes that.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-28-2011, 09:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Am I missing something?

After restraightening the pins and putting it back together it just... Works... Thanks for all the help guys . If you leave a message saying how to give reputation or whatever its called I'd be more than happy too . I guess in the end it was just a pin or 2 got bent when I put it in the first time
parijuf is offline  
Old 12-28-2011, 09:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Am I missing something?

star on the lower left of every post.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2011, 10:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Am I missing something?

Congrats, mate!
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing something here... Trotter Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 05-19-2010 01:13 AM
what's missing firestarter System Upgrades 2 05-27-2007 11:03 AM
Maybe I'm missing something... pcrobot System Upgrades 11 11-21-2005 02:05 PM
Missing ! majistic Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-15-2005 11:14 PM
Am I missing Something? Musjunk22 Overclocking and Modding 1 06-11-2004 05:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.