Am i missing anything? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default Am i missing anything?

im making a list, and checking it twice, heh... anyways umm.. i made a list of comp parts, wanted to know if anyone can see something else that id need to add on like cables, or other little extras like that. Also if you'd be so kind to include your thoughts or ideas for this system of mine, that i wish to build. thx



Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6L200S0 200GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive OEM
NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner Model ND-3550A OEM
floppy drive OEM
gigaram 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model GR9053-1GB/400/SA RETAIL
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor RETAIL
ATRIX CSCI-G8022C-C43 Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window RETAIL
ABIT AN8-V Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard RETAIL
ENVISION ECT710g Black 17" CRT Monitor RETAIL
sunbeam keyboard RETAIL
sunbeam mouse RETAIL
__________________

Fujintheap is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Um... If i'm not mistaken your missing a video card. Nice system though
__________________

Adam123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Maxtor? Go with Seagate... unless you like replacing hard drives and losing your stuff.

Not familiar with Gigaram. You may want to look at OCZ.

Yeah, you need a graphics card. You may want to look at the 6800 GS. Good performance without breaking the bank.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

for your ram, look for a dual channel memory kit. the single stick you have will WORK, but it's better to have 2 identical sticks of 512 in your computer because it supports dual channel operating.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Wheres the Power supply?

Don't tell me you plan on using the one that comes with the case?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ok, after your suggestions, heres what i came up with:



Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3250823AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive OEM

NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner Model ND-3550A OEM
floppy drive OEM

OCZ Value Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4001024V25DC-K

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor RETAIL

ATRIX CSCI-G8022C-C43 Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window RETAIL

ABIT AN8-V Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard RETAIL

ENVISION ECT710g Black 17" CRT Monitor RETAIL

sunbeam keyboard RETAIL

sunbeam mouse RETAIL

MSI Geforce 6800GS NX6800GS-TD256E Lite Video Card - Retail


again, id appriciate suggestions, comments, concerns, all that crap, and i am going to use the 480W Power supply that comes with the case

Current cost with ups 3day shipping: $918.70
Fujintheap is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

I would go with eVGA instead of MSI. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.