Is this alright for gaming? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 03:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

anyways i just looked at some comonents and i'm not sure if the 850 pounds is only for the components you listed or for a whole comp including monitor.. but i picked only the type of parts you picked.. except better.. and well here it is..


Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail (CP-128-IN)

Price: £204.99 (£240.86 Including VAT at 17.5%)

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...aCP_2d128_2dIN

Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-061-GI)

Price: £89.95 (£105.69 Including VAT at 17.5%)

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...aMB_2d061_2dGI

G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400PHU2-2GBNR) (MY-014-GS)

Price: £129.99 (£152.74 Including VAT at 17.5%)

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...aMY_2d014_2dGS

Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (3056) (GX-047-CO)

Price: £169.95 (£199.69 Including VAT at 17.5%)

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...aGX_2d047_2dCO

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB ST3320620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-078-SE)

Price: £59.95 (£70.44 Including VAT at 17.5%)

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...aHD_2d078_2dSE

Subtotal £654.83
VAT £114.60
Total £769.43
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

The cost was for an actual computer fully built, with no monitor!!

I'm not to confident about building a computer so i went on to www.pcspecialist.co.uk and you can put together what you want and they build it for you!!

I'm gonna be running the pc of a 26" HD TV so I chose not to have a monitor.

Is that still to much?
__________________

__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya it is a lot... try to find another site that builds pc's... or just be brave and build it yourself
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 07:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

how much do you reckon I should be paying for all of that then?
__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 07:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

I managed to get this from a website for £805, what do you think?

Processor: AMD64 Athlon X2 4600+ 1Mb cache

Memory: 2.0GB DDR 400mhz (2 x 1GB)

Hard Disk Drive: 300GB S-ATA2 3.0Gb/s 16MB buffer

Second Hard Disk Drive: None

Optical Drive: 16x Double-Layer DVD+/-RW

Second Optical Drive: None

Graphics card: NVidia GeForce 7900GT PCI-E 256MB DDR3 Dual DVI/TV

Floppy Disk Drive: 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive

Operating System: Genuine Microsoft Windows XP Home SP2

Sound card: Onboard audio

Internet and Networking: Onboard 10/100 network card (Built-in)

Monitor: None

Peripherals: Wireless keyboard and mouse
Printer: None

Warranty: 3 Years Standard Warranty

Case: Thermaltake Soprano

PSU: 580W Hiper Modular Silent PSU
__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Thats a socket 939 system...not a good deal...why dont you go with what Alias suggested, it kicks on that last one u listed...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 04:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

Whats the difference between 939 and 775?

Plus I thought AMD was the best to have if you were gonna have a machine for gaming?

Should I change over to intel dual core then?

Cheers
__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

AMD WAS the best chip for gaming, until intel released Core 2 Duo. this new intel chip is now the best at everything.

socket 939 is an AMD socket thats beginning to be phased out due to AM2 and soon-to-come AM3 sockets.

socket 775 is intel's latest socket, and its been around for quite a while. core 2 duo processors use the same socket as the pentium 4 (not the old pentium 4...)

anyways... when it comes to gaming... this is how it goes


pentium 4 > athlon > core 2 duo
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
AMD WAS the best chip for gaming, until intel released Core 2 Duo. this new intel chip is now the best at everything.

socket 939 is an AMD socket thats beginning to be phased out due to AM2 and soon-to-come AM3 sockets.

socket 775 is intel's latest socket, and its been around for quite a while. core 2 duo processors use the same socket as the pentium 4 (not the old pentium 4...)

anyways... when it comes to gaming... this is how it goes


pentium 4 > athlon > core 2 duo
Yep, yep.....but u got those arrows backwards:

pentium4 < athlon (939) < athlon (AM2) < core2 duo

or

core2 duo > athlon (am2) > athlon (939) > pentium4
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 01:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

prehaps i need to have a rethink then.

so im best having a 7900gt with a dual core 2, thats gonna cost me more than what i originally had isn't it?
__________________

__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.