are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

Hello,

i was planning to get a SATA drive but wanted to ensure that the drive was compatible with my motherboard.

do all the SATA cables (old and new) have a standard interface and the newer ones (SATA 300 Mbps) are backwards compatible with the older ones (SATA 150 Mbps)?

i guess i would have to buy a SATA power cable in addition to the SATA data cable, correct?

have the SATA power cable standards changed, would i be able to use a SATA power cable with my old motherboard (gigabyte 81875 ultra) from 2003?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

The cable is just the cable. Like an IDE cable will work with various speeds of IDE drives.

Most newer 300MB/s drives do have backwards compatibility with the older 150MB/s interface. There is a jumper on these drives so you can set the speed.

If your PSU doesn't have the SATA power connector, you can purchase a molex-to-SATA power plug. The data cable can also be purchased if it didn't come with the motherboard.

No, the power standards have no changed. The power cable for the 150MB/s and the 300MB/s are the same.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

thanks for the reply,

the IDE cables did change at one point. they used to be 20 wires and then changed to 40 wires.
i was wondering if such a change had occured with SATA cables as well or are the cables and connectors consistent since they first arrivedi n 2003?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

Wasn't it 40 to 80?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

eek

you are right the change was from 40 to 80
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

And yet, you can still use them both. Wonderful, eh?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohGrFreak View Post
And yet, you can still use them both. Wonderful, eh?
Truly.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobos and sata cables Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-12-2007 03:14 PM
Best place to buy SATA cables; what kind? Tricky New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-11-2007 02:26 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 11:31 PM
Serial ATA150, same or compatible with SATA? Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-03-2007 12:04 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.