Is all RAM equal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2009, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: S.W. Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Is all RAM equal?

I want to upgrade the RAM in my laptop to 4gb (max). I have been looking at different brands and what not, but I am a bit confused. I see it priced any where from $78 to $310 for 4gb ddr2 sodimm 667 mhz (2gb x 2). Is there a differrence between the cheaper and the more expensive memory? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
__________________

Adam P is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

The main differences are CAS speeds and name brand quality. Good brands to look out for would be G.Skill, Kingston, Corsair. A-Data isn't bad either if it's much cheaper.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

I would go with the above, plus OCZ. I have used them alot, never had a problem. Had to refurb a few, but that happens even with the most expensive RAM.

Go with the middle one. Basically, I get the ones with heat spreaders, they are nice to keep the ram cool.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: S.W. Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

The a-data was the cheapest of all the the brands you listed. It was $78 at nwegg and it had good reviews. I am wanting to upgrade to windows 7, and i know it says I only need 2gb, but I would rather have the extra just in case.
Adam P is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

Do keep in mind if you have a 32bit OS you will be limited to 3.5gb - the amount of video ram on your system.

You can install 4gb you just will not be able to use it all.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

Right, if you get Win7, make sure it's 64bit.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: S.W. Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Do keep in mind if you have a 32bit OS you will be limited to 3.5gb - the amount of video ram on your system.

You can install 4gb you just will not be able to use it all.
I wondered about that. Currently I am running Windows Vista Home Basic at 32 bits even though I have a 64 bit processor. So I will go ahead and upgrade the memory and then install my new OS. Thanks for all the help.
Adam P is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

well, a 64-bit processor can run 32-bit operating systems fine.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: S.W. Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
well, a 64-bit processor can run 32-bit operating systems fine.
I know. I want to upgrade to the 64 bit Windows 7 OS. This is my main reason for upgrading the memory to 4gb. Currently my laptop just meets the minimum system requirements and I would rather upgrade things and get this above the minimums so that hopefully things will run smoothly with the new OS.
Adam P is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is all RAM equal?

Using cheap, odd brand named ram can lead to compatibility problems. It might work in one PC and it might not in another. With that said, I have used A-Data in a lot of different pc's quite successfully. I wouldn't buy it for a Gamer but it works great for a basic workstation.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard ram support (need help) UpLiNk System Upgrades 4 01-26-2009 08:03 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Utilize full power of ram lockheart System Upgrades 1 12-18-2008 02:40 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.