AGPPro compatible with AGP8x? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default AGPPro compatible with AGP8x?

Building another computer for a friend and the motherboard has both PCI-e and AGPPro slots. We don't have enough to get the PCI-e video card just yet, but I have a few AGP8x cards lying around. I would like to know if AGP and AGPPro are compatible before I blow the thing up

Anyone know if it'll be alright to install a AGP card into an AGPPro slot?
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

"AGP Pro is a extention to the standard AGP connector and slot on both sides to provide additional power to an AGP card.
It comes in two flavors, AGP Pro110 provides for 50-110W of power and requires two adjacent PCI slots for cooling. AGP Pro50 provides for 20-50W of power and requires a single adjacent PCI slot for cooling.

An AGP Pro video card will not work in an AGP slot.
An AGP video card will work in an AGP Pro slot, however the card must have a registration tab. "
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

Quote:
AGP Pro had been released in April 1999 to provide that necessary power and consequent cooling to a computer system. The AGP Pro Connector is fully backward compatible and offers additional pins at the front and the back of the connector.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Wow, so many variations, I never knew. But thanks for the info, M733mhz and bmxfreakrider, it's very useful.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.