agp vs pci - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default agp vs pci

if agp was created to be specifically for video cards then why did they go back to the old format of pci?
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It is PCIE, which has bigger bandwidth and can read and write at the same time, which = better.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Basically, it's like CPU's. They change the interface over time. Like Intel went from socket 478 to 775, video cards in general went from AGP 8X to PCI-E 16X. However, you can still buy AGP cards. But you're better off with PCI-E
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

pci-express or pci-e is very different. it operates at a higher frequency and lower latency than AGP. it can support up to double the bandwidth and data transfers to and from the card simultaneously where AGP could only transfer in one direction at a time
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

What I don't understand is why AGP isn't better, I mean it connects to the northbridge right and PCIE connects to the southbridge...
I realise PCIE is a higher specification bus but wht can't they make a much faster AGP bus that takes advantage of the fact that its on the northbridge?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

cause... they just abondond agp.. they coulda made it plenty better.

I am still stuck with agp and i feel i dont need to get pcie for a while.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

AGP was 'abondond' as you say... Sure, there aren't as MANY products available for AGP as there are for PCI-e, but there are 1600 Pro, 7800 GS...

I THINK the term you were searching for is 'AGP is being phased out'.... It is the nature of the business... If there is progress to be made, why stick with older technology when the businesses selling the new stuff are going to take off, leaving you behind....

Look at CPU's as someone said... They are at 90nm process (AMD) and 65nm process (Intel) right now... The process gets smaller, sockets change, CPU's become MORE powerful while drawing LESS power & creating LESS heat....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
What I don't understand is why AGP isn't better, I mean it connects to the northbridge right and PCIE connects to the southbridge...
I realise PCIE is a higher specification bus but wht can't they make a much faster AGP bus that takes advantage of the fact that its on the northbridge?
There is no south bridge on AMD64 systems. There is only one chipset, no north and south bridge. The north bridge was completely done away with with the advent of the on-die memory controller.

The bus that the PCI-E information flows through is part of the LDT bus which is significantly faster than the bus the AGP runs on. The AGP on Nf3 boards where it's using the LDT bus is limited by the fact that, not only is the bus slower compared to nf4 boards, but that AGP's design in itself is limited to the 8x.

PCI-E on the newer bus, is a more efficient designed made specifically for this newer bus system as well.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

What about on an intel system that dosn't have an LDT? Like, say conroe.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
What about on an intel system that dosn't have an LDT? Like, say conroe.
Well they've modified theres to accomodate DDR2 right? That was their original answer to the AMD back in in the socket A days I believe. Then of course with AMD's advent of the on-die memory controller and LDT bus it was getting better than Intels system which had previously been better than AMD's....now Intel is just putting up an awesome new CPU but their bus system still works the same.

IMO, their bus system is still inferior and they should work on that and would probably really increase their performance, but of course the conroe does dang good on it's own so imagine if they DID improve their bus.

Either way though, in terms of the graphics card, I'm sure they had to do some modifications to the chipset on the boards using PCI-E slots. Buuuuut, honestly for Intel boards I'm not all that sure, never thought about it before. All I could think of is that they just modified the route that the bus took with AGP to allow for the extra bandwidth of PCI-E.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.