Agp Or Pci? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 04:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

wth is going on here? I didn't see your question properly answered anywhere. You didn't post your motherboard or anything. If someone did answer it here, it was really unclear and they're just guessing.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

get your eyes checked , he provided his onboard graphic name then i wrote its not his motherboard model as he tought but then i decided to look up the onboard graphic name in google and found out it belongs to 915G chipset (which have pci-e) so i wrote that (that he needs a pci-e card) , then he thanked me. end of the story , whats so hard to see is very unclear to me its in plain english
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Yeah, I know a kid with an Intel 915 onboard graphics and has nothing but PCI slots for expansion. Don't be a flamer dude.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

OK the answer is in the third post Jeremy wrote this:

ok i had a look in google for that onboard graphic name you provided , your motherboard is based on Intel 915G chipset , which means neither of the two. you need to get a pci-e (pci express) graphic card

Theres The Answer
EsTeBaNo is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Thats why im buying a **** video card and im not a kid.
You Dont be a Flamer Dude.
EsTeBaNo is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

And it wasnt unclear cause i checked and Jeremy was correct,
And my question was answered long time ago so dont keep posting the same thing
EsTeBaNo is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Then he got lucky, as Ryan said, that is a chipset, NOT a motherboard.

They are two very different things. You both are new to this site, so you'd be well off listening to those here with more experience with the forums and computer technology (Ryan for example)
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Anyways it isnt important if its a motherboard or a chipset the only thing i want to know is if My Slot ir Pci or Agp
And Jeremy told me that irs Pci-E
EsTeBaNo is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
[B]Then he got lucky, as Ryan said, that is a chipset, NOT a motherboard.
They are two very different things./B]
chipset and motherboard are indid diffrent things however the chipset determines what components the motherboards that are based on it will have sure they might have some non-chipset related components aswell but everything the chipset offers believe me it will have it
look at the 915G chipset specifications http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/915g/index.htm
please search in online pc stores like newegg/zipzoomfly/mwave for 915g motherboards and youll see my point.
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you very much!!!
__________________

EsTeBaNo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.