AGP Graphics Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Land down under
Posts: 14
Default AGP Graphics Cards

I am looking for a graphics card it has to be An AGP one becaus emy pc is sort of old i prefer Nvidia over ATi but it dont really care My budget is $100-$300
"AU" yes australian do you have any suggestion. I have been looking at an Nvidia 7600 because i really dont play many games or maybe should i just get a new Mobo thats PCI-E compatable???

ps i really have no clue about computers sorry, but i know i have 500 watt psu 512mb ram soon to be 2gb that probably about it
__________________

jamesphipps2 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

I would go with the 7600GT. They're $135 US.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

yes, the 7600GT would be good, but unless you're into a lot of gaming and into computers, a new mobo may not be necessary. However, it will always boost your performance

If you want to go that route though, you might want to ask more about different hardware just so you know what to get and what not to


a 7600 GT will perform nicely for what you want and meet your budget
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Land down under
Posts: 14
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

Thank Guys i really only play WOW occansionaly will this be good enough?? note this is on my brother pc and i have no idea what graphics card he has
jamesphipps2 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

most definately
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Land down under
Posts: 14
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

Yes But at about how many FPS can you give me an estimate ???
jamesphipps2 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 05:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

with 2 gigs of ram and a 7600gt youd get around 40-50 minimum id say unless your like using a sempron or celron processor
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 06:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

How much money you looking to spend? Because I would suggest just getting a new mobo with PCI-e and sAM2 or sLGA 775.
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesphipps2 View Post
Yes But at about how many FPS can you give me an estimate ???
depends a lot on the resolution you want to play at.

If you want 1024x768 I'd say you'll run about 55 FPS on average.

If you do 1680x1024.... that's a different story

You should be able to run it just fine with the 7600
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 05:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: AGP Graphics Cards

I got 60 FPS on a Pentium4 2.4ghz , 512RDRAM, 9600XT 128MB - So i think your set.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Newbie w/ Graphics Questions Grizzlyb34r New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:45 AM
Free Graphics ? OzzyClass Web Graphics and Design 0 04-22-2007 07:50 PM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.