AGP 8x Nvidia GeForce 5200GX 256MB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Default AGP 8x Nvidia GeForce 5200GX 256MB?

My friend and I were debating if this is a good card for gaming or not. I said it is not a good card. He says it is. What are your guys' opinions?
__________________

hinker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

The only thing that card is good for is straping an M80 to it and watching it blow up
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hey if your on a budget.. and just want to get by.. that card will not do you harm.... considering my onboard piece of crap does me some good with cs source... running full setting 1024x768... well no AA
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
hey if your on a budget.. and just want to get by.. that card will not do you harm..

True


It will play older game's no problem,But if you want to play today's game's you will have to play everything on lowest setting's
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My freind has the 5200 (I think 128) and it is everything on lowest and 800 X 600 and he then only gets low 40's. Btw. he thinks that V memory is all that matters, when it is a combination of core and mem speed and pipelines.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

You can play good games like Counter-Strike ------ that never gets old. I love that game.
M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

There's absolutely no reason not to get the FX 5500. It's virtually the same price, and does run games. It's like 50-60 bucks max. And remember, when you're dealing with cards like those low-end ones, video memory is NOT the way you determine which one to buy. Anything over 128 is frivilous.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Yah, I would recommend an fx5500. I bought an fx5200 awhile ago for my crappy downstairs computer and it does play games, but with low 40's. My friend brought over his 5500, and yes I noticed that the frame rate, when it dropped, never dropped significantly low, and i managed to add a setting to the game.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 05:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

To answer your question, it's a decent card if your really not doing anything with it otherwise it's crap.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
Anything over 128 is frivilous.

Ryan
i have an FX5500 PCI 256mb and it runs in runs everything pretty good whats wrong with going over 128 on a low-end card anyway?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.