advise on a server build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2005, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default advise on a server build

Hey, I'm gonna put together a Linux server for my workplace, and I wanted some advice on the configuration. The server will need to hold a lot of files, but it doesn't need to be all that fast. The biggest thing is it has to be stable. Cheap wouldn't hurt either. I need a lot of storage, a decent amount of memory, and a solid (non plasticy) case. Here is the config that I'm thinking about.

CPU AMD Athalon 64 2800 +
Mobo Abit KV8 Pro
System Disk 1X WD 80 GB PATA HD
Storage 2X WD Caviar 320 GB SATA150 HD
Memory 1GB (2X512) Corsair Value Select Ram
Case Antec Solution SLK 3000
Power Fortron Source 350W
Video Card Don't matter, no graphics intensive software to be run

If I get all this stuff from newegg, it'll cost about $750. Alright, let me know what you think.

rmc3po is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

That will be more than enough, especially if you don't install a memory hogging window manager. A few questions though; will the two WDs be in RAID, and what distro are you gonna be using?


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to silentassassin

if u r going to store important files on this server u are going to want to go with raid 5 and get one more wd hd...safest and most reliable raid so far.
silentassassin is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14

Make sure to put those drives in RAID-1 not RAID-0 for reliability.

You'll lose half the space, but mirroring the drives will allow one drive to fail and keep running.

If you have the funds, buy another drive and go RAID-5.

I noticed you selected a PATA drive for the system, I would recommend ditching this drive and adding another SATA drive and go RAID-5 for the entire machine.

Also, a good idea, would be 5.25" hotswap SATA removable drive trays so you can replace a drive easily.

Also, check out the Promise website ( for a list of available RAID cards and enclosures.
905it is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2

Sorry I didn't mention it earlier, but I'm actually building two of these machines, so the whole machine will be mirrored using r-synch or something similar. So, I wasn't planning on running RAID at all.

Thanks for the advice on the removable drive trays.

I was planning on running the most recent fedora distribution, not sure of the exact number.

On the note about the PATA drive, I'd like to run all the drives SATA. Do you guys know any reliable 754 mobos that have more than two SATA 150 connectors?
rmc3po is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

you dont need a video card.. the mobo has int.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 06:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Nice PC, you seem to know what you are doing. If you want good reliability make sure to get good cooling. I would also recomend a cheap low power consumption card like ATI 9200 (or 9200SE) for the PC.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default I needed the same server

orite mate, i needed a similar specification my-self. For financial reasons i was planning to make the system my-self but then my friend told me about Broadberry.

They done me a similar spec server for £700. This is there web site:

Broadberrys Web Site
teched is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default i'd reccomend this case (unless you don't want a side window) otherwise it's rather sturdy and efficient
the power buttons are hidden behind the door AND the case has locks which is very nice feature for a server. so you'd have to unlock it to turn it on/off or access the inside.
the plastic is also pretty dang thick on the front panne, the rest is Pretty dang tough metal I bought my chenming used.. and appearantly the dolt dropped it :/ I had hell Bending it back due to it's toughness.
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405

if its a server i recommend a case with a lock, the rest of the rig looks like an awesome server,

The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.