Advice on pc needed. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Post Advice on pc needed.

I'm looking at buying this:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice $190
MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4 $83
Just 4 PC - 727 - Black ATX Mid-Tower Case $52.46
Corsair 1GB DDR400 PC3200 $88.30
Windows XP Home OEM $89.25
SAPPHIRE Radeon X550 100119L Video Card $82.49
Total $585.50 (I'm trying to stay around $600 or so...)

I would like to find a case and PSU for about $50 that's good quality, since the one I'm thinking about now is ok... (I'd like to find something a little better) Any suggestions?
Also, is a 450W PSU enough, or do I need a more powerful one?
Thanks!
__________________

pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

For a Case and a good PSU combo I reccomend looking for an Antec one. Though I am not sure if ull be able to find it for 50$ sorry.

450 Watts should be ok. Depending on what Power supply you find.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Here's what I would suggest:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice - $146
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

Case: Linkworld 3210-04-C2628 - $20
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811164040

That should save you $74, which you can put towards this:

Power Supply: Thermaltake Silent PurePower 420w - $39
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153006

Video Card: SAPPHIRE Radeon X700PRO - $120
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102489

I'm not so sure about the video card choice, I just looked for something that would keep the price under $600 total. Someone else might want to comment on that.

Another thing... do you have a hard drive and optical drives that you're using from an old computer or something? You didn't put them on your list, so that's why I'm asking...
beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 07:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

are you going to be gaming? cause X550 aint going to do it, an X700pro might

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...351110&CatId=0

6600GT is so much more better and just 10 dollars more
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Arrow

Yes, I'll be using my optical drives and HDD from my old pc. They're pretty good.
And gaming... yes, I want something that will run Doom 3 (or BF2, F.E.A.R, Sims2, etc.) fairly well, as long as I can stay around my budget.
Also, will the 3000+ be good enough to run the games above?
Thanks!
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

That processor will run those games very smoothly. Good setup!

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
That processor will run those games very smoothly. Good setup!

Ryan
So the 3000+ combined with the 6600GT would be able to play the latest games?
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 05:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya, but if you have the money Id go for the 3200+ or if you have even more money a 3700+.
IMO.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

just go for a 3000+ and get a better gfx
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
are you going to be gaming? cause X550 aint going to do it, an X700pro might
Would gameplay be ok if I didn't max out the graphics (with the X550)... smaller resolution, etc? :question:
Thanks! :nerd:
__________________

pcrobot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.