Advice for gaming rig. pleeease. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default Advice for gaming rig. pleeease.

Which is better for the newest games on high settings and higher fps for CS:S ??

AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 3800, or the 4200 ? Not much difference in price, on ebay anyway.

I will be posting more questions in this topic as I learn more about what I'm getting into. Thanks in advance.
__________________

4DConsumer is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Get the X2 3800+, they are $169 on Newegg, and the 4200+ won't give much of a performance increase in games, as the video card does most of the work.

I wouldn't buy computer parts on eBay either.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Get the X2 3800+, they are $169 on Newegg, and the 4200+ won't give much of a performance increase in games, as the video card does most of the work.

I wouldn't buy computer parts on eBay either.
Agreed... on both fronts... eBay = no, get X2 3800+ and OC it to 4200+ speeds and save the money.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

well obviously the 4200+ is going to be better, but not enough better for themoney. get the 3800. or buy the 4400 and get a real performance upgrade with the l2 chache

but guys do youseriously think he can overclock? he dosnt even know wich is the faster cpu betweene the 3800+ and 4200+
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Yeah, I was reading the customer reviews on newegg.com about both cpus' and alot of people said that the 3800 was nearly just as good as the 4200 for a lower cost. Next question, with the 3800, what motherboard should I go with? I'm currently looking at the ECS K8T890-A. This is it's specs:

CPU Socket Type Socket 939 for Athlon 64 FX/Athlon 64/Sempron/Dual Core
FSB 1000MHz Hyper Transport (2000 MT/s)
North Bridge VIA K8T890
South Bridge VIA VT8237R
4x 184pin DDR PC3200
Maximum Memory Supported 2GB Dual Channel
AGP Express slot (8X)
PCI Express x16
PCI Express x1
2 PCI Slots
1 x CNR
PATA 2 x ATA100 up to 4 Devices
2 SATA 1.5 Gb/s
SATA RAID 0/1
Realtek ALC655 Audio
6 Channels 24-bit sound
LAN Chipset VIA VT6103 1 GB/s
2 PS/2
1 COM
1 LPT
4x USB 2.0
3 Ports Audio Ports
4x USB 2.0
4DConsumer is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i suggest you go with a am2 setup
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

that way you can upgrade in the fture, socket 939 has seen its days. get am2 if you want to be able to upgrade to the am3
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

The main reason for socket 939 is that I want to keep my existing 1 GB ram (184 pin). Socket AM2 is 240 pin. Thanks for the info though.
4DConsumer is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

oh alright, then in that case i like your choices
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Can somebody recommend a good motherboard that is compatible with the AMD X2 3800 socket 939 ? The one I was looking at isn't compatible with the X2.
__________________

4DConsumer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.