Adding a third Hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2008, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Adding a third Hard drive

Ok, my motherboard has two IDE connectors and I use one of them for my cd/dvd drive. The other is for my hard drives and I currently have two (max) on the cable. Is there a way to add a third?
__________________

rob91 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Adding a third Hard drive

You can put it on the IDE cable with your optical, but that's not a great solution.

I would get a PCI SATA controller card and a SATA drive if it were me.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Adding a third Hard drive

Thanks for the help. I think I might just make it an external hard drive - what sort of kit do I need to buy for that? I see many external hard drive kits but most seem to only come with a USB cable and I am not sure how I would connect that to the IDE.

Also, may seem like another silly question but how do I figure out the dimensions of my hard drive? 2.5", 3.5", ... thanks.
rob91 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Adding a third Hard drive

USB connects to an external USB jack, hence it being called an "external" hard drive. You will need an external housing for the hard drive... you can find these on Newegg.

Internal desktop hard drives are 3.5" drives. Laptops use 2.5" drives.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 07:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Adding a third Hard drive

USB to IDE USB to IDE Adapters - USBNow.co.uk
Yek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
adding a hard drive... a few questions triskit System Upgrades 6 12-29-2007 10:16 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.