Adding more or upgrading ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2012, 12:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ckop11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota U.S.
Posts: 207
Default Adding more or upgrading ram

Ive been getting into photo eddting and am almost at 4gb physical when i have Lr3 and a few other apps running..

I have 2 2gb mushkin sticks, im not 100% but i think its 1600 at cat las 9 (i cant find a 2x2 set on newegg?


this is what its running at now. and i just noticed it says unganged? what does that mean? i dont think it has said that before?



is this sufficient if i can find two more 2x2 of the same kind? and will i be able to run the same timings, speed if i add two more?

or should i look at maybe replacing it with 2x4 of something ( i like mushkin because i have never had a problem with there stuff and have always heard they have good customer service)

Thanks!

edit- they discontinued the 2x2 ram i have in my system
__________________

__________________
Phenom II x4 40 BE - 3.6Ghz
Asus M4A89GTD Pro Usb3 - 6Gb/sec
Mushkin Blackline 8GB @1800
NZXT Kraken x61
840 Samsung x2
MSI GTX970
24'' Dell G2410
Windows 10
ckop11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Adding more or upgrading ram

I would just buy an 8GB set since they are so cheap anyways. Get a 1600MHz set and you could probably add it to your current sticks easy.
Unganged is normal.

I have had the exact opposite with their CS.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ckop11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota U.S.
Posts: 207
Default Re: Adding more or upgrading ram

Thanks thinking this

Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 996995
__________________
Phenom II x4 40 BE - 3.6Ghz
Asus M4A89GTD Pro Usb3 - 6Gb/sec
Mushkin Blackline 8GB @1800
NZXT Kraken x61
840 Samsung x2
MSI GTX970
24'' Dell G2410
Windows 10
ckop11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Adding more or upgrading ram

Should work good.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.