Adding more ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2012, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Adding more ram

Hello, I have a friend that is wanting to add more ram to his computer. Thing is the computer is using OCZ SLI DDR2 800 5-4-4-15 ram that runs at 2.1v and that is no longer being made and it seems like all the decent deals on DDR2 ram is for 1.8v and/or with worse timings. Would any 1.8v ram work, or would some 1.8v run to hot at 2.1v? I was thinking about trying to under volt the current ram but I was hopeing to find something that would just work out of the box.

Basically can I get some suggestions on 2x1GB or 2x2GB DDR2 ram with preferbly higher stock voltage requirements or ones that are known to run well at 2-2.1v? He is also planning on getting another hard drive so if anyone knows of a combo deal with the ram and a 1TB or larger hard drive that would be nice to.

This is his current ram
Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2N800SR4GK
current mobo
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Adding more ram

You can get this: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-4GBPK

Same voltage. Little lower timing.

Is the 1TB HDD be used for OS or storage?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Adding more ram

The HDD would be for storage.

For the ram I was hopeing to find something that was on sale. I've found 4GB DDR2 ram for $30 after rebate so I was hopeing to find some higher voltage stuff for ~$40 or 2GB for ~$25.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Adding more ram

That's the only one available on newegg at that voltage and speed.

Your best bet is to get a new set. So you won't be throttling the voltages and timings. What are you trying to achieve? 8GB is really pricey as far as DDR2 goes.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Adding more ram

Well my friend wants more ram because he runs a modified version of a game (GTR2 racing sim IIRC) and apparently it takes a lot of ram. Ran a program that lets it access 4GB but since thats all the computer has its still not enough (runs FSX flight sim to). So he wants to get more ram. He said 2GB but it looks like 4GB wouldn't be that much more so I was looking for both. He currently is running 2x2GB and has 2 open slots so I was hopeing to get a 2 stick kit that will run. The timings don't have to be as good as the current ram but I don't want to have him order ram and then find out that it can't handle the volts that the current ram requires.

I might go over there sometime and find out if I can undervolt the current ram since I'm pretty sure its slightly underclocked right now(rated for 400 but running ~380 and stock timings IIRC)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding more ram blueae1405 System Upgrades 4 11-08-2009 12:23 AM
adding more ram weewun New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-20-2008 02:12 PM
Adding RAM tommyboy123x New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-21-2007 06:54 PM
Adding More RAM IfYouHaveToAsk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-10-2007 09:13 AM
Adding RAM Stiks System Upgrades 8 09-09-2005 12:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.