Adding More Devices? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Default Adding More Devices?

My Mobo has 2 IDE bays and says it can support up to 4 IDE devices, but what I want to know is, can I somehow put more than 4 IDE devices on? See I have 2 hard drives, 2 Cd Rom Drives (Dvd burner, and Cd-Rom). What I want to do is add another HD and a floppy drive, is there anyway I can do this beside using the USB ports?
__________________

sup2jzgte05 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to lt.wolfwood
Default

your going to need something like this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16816102007
__________________

lt.wolfwood is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

the floppy should have it's own controller slot, but you would need a PCI slot controller card to add the additional ide devices...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.