Adding memory sticks.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Adding memory sticks..

Hey, I'm new here,

I heard it's possible to add a memory stick / memory sticks onto your mainboard to increase PC space. For one, if this is the case, how do I know which memory stick (s) to purchase, and is it possible to add like 1 GB etc. Below are my mainboard details, if anyone call tell me if there are any programs or anything that tells me socket details that would be great.

Mainboard details:

Name: Nec Computers International SIS651 [ nothing comes up on google =S, can anyone get any info by just looking at the name or something]


If anymore information is needed please ask.

Thank you
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Go to crucial.com and use there online scanner, it will tell you exactly what ram you need, how much you currantly have installed and how many empty slots, all without taking your case off!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Thank you - just used it and it came back with a select your NEC model, I'm stuck there.. how can I find this out?
Willeh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.