Adding Memory? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2007, 12:11 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Re: Adding Memory?

I left my computer on overnight so i could download the new patch for WoW that is coming out on tuesday. when i woke up i checked the HDDH and found a few changes... Perhaps this will help further narrow down the issue. As you can see the thing on the SMART page has gone from red to blue... i dont know what that means, but its different... and the D Drive has a whole new thing that is now RED... also the Health of the D Drive has a "Nearest T.E.C." date... what does T.E.C. stand for?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg D Drive SMART2.JPG (57.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg D Drive Health2.JPG (42.2 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg C Drive SMART2.JPG (57.6 KB, 10 views)
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 12:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Re: Adding Memory?

oh yea... i bought new memory for my girlfriends computer because memtest86 said the old memory was bad... and we still had the same problem after i installed the new memory on her computer... so while it needed to be done... it didnt fix the problem... (she is having the same WoW issues as I am... loss of textures... game crashes... etc...)
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 12:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Adding Memory?

And what is her complete build specifications?

Have you tried updating, windows, game patch, Video card driver, Flash BIOS?
For both computers..
Ste is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 12:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Re: Adding Memory?

Ok, I was just playing and shrunk down to see if you had replied and I got an error message from what i am assuming is HDDH. Im pretty sure, that everything is up to date... but will double check right now... will post again when i find out one way or another...

She has a similar set up to mine.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego
MB: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 7600 GS
Memory: 1G Kingston PC3200 (512 x 2) - (just bought yesterday)
OS: Windows XP
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Error Page.JPG (7.6 KB, 10 views)
u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 01:21 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Adding Memory?

Its possible that your Harddrive is going, so just make sure you have back ups of everything you deem to be important..
Other than that, you can either wait it out, or buy another Harddrive to see if thats a problem right off.

As for the other computer, I would again make sure BIOS is flashed, all patchs are updated, all drivers are updated and windows is up to date before anything else is done.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 01:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Re: Adding Memory?

ok... it looks like my bios is out of date... and the asus website says i need to update my chipset driver in order to update my bios... but i cant figure out what chipset driver version i have... im 99% sure i have the correct one... but i dont want to take any chances if asus says it will mess everything up if i update the bios and i dont have the updated chipset drivers...

ps... i have to go out for most of the day today... so if you dont hear from me... thats why... i will probably work on this a lot tomorrow...

thanks a million for all your help ste... i appreciate it a lot...
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 09:39 PM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 01:54 PM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.