adding a hard drive... a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

triskit

In Runtime
I would like to add a hard drive to my computer, but I have never done this before, so I'll need a bit of help.

My current hard drive is a Western Digital 160 GB SATA

(WD1600YD 160GB CAVIAR RE SATA RAID 8.9MS 16MB 7200RPM, discontinued)

I would like to add another internal drive for storage, since I already have an external (nice for data transfer between my home/ college computer, but not that convenient when I want to access stuff on it).

I just want a good 250/320 GB slave drive. The old 160 GB would be the master. Would this drive work for me? Or should I be looking for something else for compatibility?

Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS 320GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

I've never purchased an oem drive from newegg, but I assume that it wont come with any power connectors or anything to connect the two drives... So what other things will I need to set this up?

any other general issues with the setup?

the info you provided is INITIALLY irrelevant...

we will assume you have space inside your case to house the drive?
assuming your mobo has additional connectors as well?

so, now...assuming the basics that you can add and connect an additional drive...you may want to reconsider swapping the drives. Since the one you are adding is indeed faster.

sata usually does not chain off the existing drive but plugs into the mobo.

some more assumptions I will make and you can answer or not, doesn't matter but for you to check yourself...
does your mobo support sata 3? If not you can still use the new drive but not reap the higher rate, which may not matter to you anyways.
does your mobo have an additional sata connector?