Adding another HD to a computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default Adding another HD to a computer...

I have a home computer that is already up and running with the XP Pro OS. I am wanting to add another HD to it as a slave. How do I go about doing so...

If it is possible, how do I prepare the HD that I am putting in?

Thanks for the help guys!!
__________________

__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

First, turn off and unplug the PC, then read the hard drive's configuration and set the jumper on the back of it to the slave position.

Screw the hard drive in, plug in the IDE cable and the 4-pin Molex cable and turn the PC on.
__________________

__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default

What are the preparations on the HD before installing it?
Does it just need to be formatted?

Thanks for the post KBlair!!!
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Is this a pre-assembled machine? You should check to see what kind of hard drives it has a connection for (IDE, SATA, etc) first. After that, once you get the right type of drive it's easy to plug in and format.
Shannon is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

you can't format it until it is installed, you use your computer to format it.

Once it's plugged in and you've rebooted, if your computer detects it you should be able to see it in My Computer. Just right-click on the drive and select "format" you'll want to format it in NTFS
Shannon is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default

Shannon, your awesome... I understand it now.... I will take it from here... Thanks a bunch...
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Shannon, your awesome.
Yeah, we think so, too.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

aw, thanks Trotter
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.