The Acer TravelMate 4400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2006, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to Yolkz
Default The Acer TravelMate 4400

Acer TravelMate 4400
I was thinking of getting this laptop for my computer networking and light gaming. My only concern though is that all the reviews I have seen say the computer gets EXTREMELY hot. I was wondering if there was a cheap easy way to keep it cool and in good shape.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6069/starfoxsigwithborderyi0.png\">
Yolkz is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

have you looked at the aspire series ??

and all laptops run hot....thats why they call them not books now because they are to hot to have on your lap haha
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to Yolkz
Default

Yea but I dont know. I dont see a clear advantage of the aspire series for the budget I have. I'm getting 20mb extra on the hd than any on the aspire series. I dont know I have a hard time buying things. Peoples opinions and statments throw me off alot.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6069/starfoxsigwithborderyi0.png\">
Yolkz is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

u mean extra 20gb hd than the aspire serious no mb right ? haha

peoples opinions do make you think a little more but i mentioned the aspire series cause my boss has one and it looks really nice and runs good as well...as i said before most laptops/notebooks run hot...its just because they done get much air into them
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to Yolkz
Default

Hahah yes of course I meant 20 gb. I think this will deffinatly get the job done. I guess it would not hurt to search around a bit more.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6069/starfoxsigwithborderyi0.png\">
Yolkz is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

look at some of the toshiba laptops...they are quite good as well
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to Yolkz
Default

Thanks for the help and suggestions. One of my other concerns is what do you think of amd over intel? I'm kinda curious to try out the turion. I've used intel and would like to try something different.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6069/starfoxsigwithborderyi0.png\">
Yolkz is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

not to sure about amd in laptops...i have only ever used intel
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Send a message via Yahoo to Yolkz
Default

Well discussing with my mom about computers. Specifically about my budget she told me why not take a loan from the bank to build up my credit. So thats what I am going to do and I am now going to get the ACER Ferari the computer I really wanted. This way I can play good games and it will be able to handle my networking programs.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6069/starfoxsigwithborderyi0.png\">
Yolkz is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

you wont get the things that you'll get in acer for same price in any other manufacturer.

I dont know about other acer's but I am using Ferrari on AMD Turion. it runs good. adjusts CPU clock from 800MHz to full 2GHz. only BAD thing is that, its FAN runs all the time. but doenst necessarily blows HOTTER air.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.