Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Talking Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

Hello guys,

I have had an acer aspire t160 for a couple of years now,

Just got a new 32 inch LCD tv for xmas (yes santa took pity on me ) so i am now using this as my primary monitor for the pc.

The system came with onboard graphics which worked OK, but struggled when playing certain videos on the TV....therefore I rushed out and grabbed a 512 PNY NVIDA Geforce 9500 GT.

All excited, I installed the gfx card and everything seemed to be fine, running windows vista ultimate v smoothly.

but over the past few days the machine has been jumping to the blue screen of death with an INTERNAL_POWER_ERROR ...Its then when i looked at the gfx card box that I realised the card requires a minimum of 350W.

Upon opening up my pc, I can see that my current PSU is only 300W (link below)

Acer 300W Power Supply (PFC FSP300-60THA (1PF/ V)) - PY.30008.009

1) I guess this is the cause of the intermittent issues?

2) Am I damaging the gfx card running it at a lower (300w) voltage than the recommended (350w)?

3) Could anyone recommend a suitable replacement PSU that isnt going to damage the rest of my components ? (current voltages shown in spec below)


System spec below :-


Computer:
Computer Type ACPI x64-based PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
Internet Explorer 7.0.6001.18000
DirectX DirectX 10.0
Computer Name JIMMYMC-PC
User Name Jimmy Mc
Logon Domain JimmyMc-PC
Date / Time 2009-01-01 / 19:32

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Athlon 64, 2200 MHz (11 x 200) 3500+
Motherboard Name Acer FC51GM
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA GeForce 6100, AMD Hammer
System Memory 4096 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
DIMM1: Micron 16VDDT12864AY40BF2 1 GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz) (2.0-2-2-6 @ 133 MHz)
DIMM2: Micron 16VDDT12864AY40BF2 1 GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz) (2.0-2-2-6 @ 133 MHz)
DIMM3: Micron 16VDDT12864AY40BF2 1 GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz) (2.0-2-2-6 @ 133 MHz)
DIMM4: Micron 16VDDT12864AY40BF2 1 GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3

[ NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ]

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT
Adapter String GeForce 9500 GT
BIOS String Version 62.94.2c.0.52
Chip Type GeForce 9500 GT
DAC Type Integrated RAMDAC
Driver Date 12/11/2008
Driver Version 7.15.11.8048 - nVIDIA ForceWare 180.48
Driver Provider NVIDIA
Memory Size 512 MB

Installed Drivers:
nvd3dumx 7.15.11.8048
nvd3dum 7.15.11.8048 - nVIDIA ForceWare 180.48
nvwgf2umx 7.15.11.8048
nvwgf2um 7.15.11.8048

Video Adapter Manufacturer:
Company Name NVIDIA Corporation
Product Information Products
Driver Download Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
Driver Update DriverAgent.com Fix Your Driver Problems Instantly with DriverAgent

[ NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ]

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT
Adapter String GeForce 9500 GT
BIOS String Version 62.94.2c.0.52
Chip Type GeForce 9500 GT
DAC Type Integrated RAMDAC
Driver Date 12/11/2008
Driver Version 7.15.11.8048 - nVIDIA ForceWare 180.48
Driver Provider NVIDIA
Memory Size 512 MB

Installed Drivers:
nvd3dumx 7.15.11.8048
nvd3dum 7.15.11.8048 - nVIDIA ForceWare 180.48
nvwgf2umx 7.15.11.8048
nvwgf2um 7.15.11.8048

Video Adapter Manufacturer:
Company Name NVIDIA Corporation
Product Information Products
Driver Download Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
Driver Update DriverAgent.com Fix Your Driver Problems Instantly with DriverAgent


[ Motherboard ]

Motherboard Properties:
Manufacturer Acer
Product FC51GM
Serial Number 043A61005141

[ Memory Controller ]

Memory Controller Properties:
Error Detection Method 64-bit ECC
Error Correction None
Supported Memory Interleave 1-Way
Current Memory Interleave 1-Way
Supported Memory Speeds 70ns, 60ns, 50ns
Supported Memory Types SPM, DIMM
Supported Memory Voltages 2.9V
Maximum Memory Module Size 4096 MB
Memory Slots 4

[ Processors / AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+ ]

Processor Properties:
Manufacturer Unknown
Version AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
External Clock 201 MHz
Maximum Clock 3000 MHz
Current Clock 1005 MHz
Type Central Processor
Voltage 1.1 V
Status Disabled by user
Upgrade Socket 939
Socket Designation Socket 939

[ Caches / Internal Cache ]

Cache Properties:
Type Internal
Status Enabled
Operational Mode Write-Back
Maximum Size 128 KB
Installed Size 128 KB
Supported SRAM Type Synchronous
Current SRAM Type Synchronous
Socket Designation Internal Cache

[ Caches / Internal Cache ]

Cache Properties:
Type Internal
Status Enabled
Operational Mode Write-Back
Maximum Size 128 KB
Installed Size 128 KB
Supported SRAM Type Synchronous
Current SRAM Type Synchronous
Socket Designation Internal Cache

[ Caches / External Cache ]

Cache Properties:
Type Internal
Status Enabled
Operational Mode Write-Back
Maximum Size 512 KB
Installed Size 512 KB
Supported SRAM Type Synchronous
Current SRAM Type Synchronous
Socket Designation External Cache


--------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sensor Properties:
Sensor Type ITE IT8712F (ISA 290h)
GPU Sensor Type Diode (NV-Diode)
Chassis Intrusion Detected Yes

Temperatures:
Motherboard 44 C (111 F)
CPU 10 C (50 F)
CPU Diode 47 C (117 F)
GPU Diode 45 C (113 F)

Cooling Fans:
CPU 2280 RPM

Voltage Values:
CPU Core 1.39 V
+2.5 V 1.22 V
+3.3 V 3.30 V
+5 V 4.95 V
+12 V 11.71 V
+5 V Standby 4.97 V
VBAT Battery 2.86 V
Debug Info F 4A 00 FF
Debug Info T 138 44 10
Debug Info V 57 4C CE B8 B7 C4 A0 (35)


--------[ CPU ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU Properties:
CPU Type AMD Athlon 64, 2200 MHz (11 x 200) 3500+
CPU Alias Venice S939
CPU Stepping DH-E6
Instruction Set x86, x86-64, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Original Clock 2200 MHz
Min / Max CPU Multiplier 4x / 11x
L1 Code Cache 64 KB (Parity)
L1 Data Cache 64 KB (ECC)
L2 Cache 512 KB (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)

CPU Physical Info:
Package Type 939 Pin uOPGA
Package Size 4.00 cm x 4.00 cm
Transistors 68.5 million
Process Technology 9Mi, 90 nm, CMOS, Cu, SOI
Die Size 84 mm2
Core Voltage 1.400 - 1.450 V
I/O Voltage 1.2 V + 2.5 V
Maximum Power 67.0 W

CPU Manufacturer:
Company Name Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Product Information http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...30_118,00.html

CPU Utilization:
CPU #1 75 %


If you require any further information please let me know!

Many Many thanks in advance!!

Jimmy
__________________

jimmymcma is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

what's your budget? a corsair 650tx will power any system fine.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
what's your budget? a corsair 650tx will power any system fine.
thanks for the reply mate

no real budget to be fair? as u can tell completely clueless with regards to PSU's will this be the same size and have all the right connections to do a straight swap out?

is my current gfx card being damaged running at this low voltage?
jimmymcma is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

no your card is not getting damaged but you you'll want to replace it

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V &#47; EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies that's a good one
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
thanks a lot mate ill get one ordered !

1 more question,

I bought 4 gig of the following ram..

2GB kit (1GBx2), 184-pin DIMM, DDR PC3200 memory module
CT527152
Module Size: 2GB kit (1GBx2)
Package: 184-pin DIMM
Feature: DDR PC3200
Specs: DDR PC3200 CL=3 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR400 2.6V 128Meg x 64


I have installed it and everything seemed to be going fine, however I was under the impression that DDR400 would mean it would run at 400mhz ??

(my motherboard is here which states it does support DDR400...http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/357/2)

i have just looked at CPU-Z which displays the following about my RAM..

http://img234.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cpuz1sh4.jpg

and

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: cpuz2up6.jpg

and

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: cpuz3bv7.jpg

Do these figures look correct? As i cant see anything thats anywhere near 400mhz ?



Thanks again
jimmymcma is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

well first off DDR means double data rate, so basically the mhz number needs to be multiplied by 2 to get get your final ram speed, like my ram runs at 1333mhz but cpu-z says 667mhz so the double of 667 is 1333. that is how ddr ram works. but your right it's running about 40mhz slower than it should be. looks like you need to change your FSB:RAM ratrio if your board even has one. i have never overclocked a amd before so i dont know.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 05:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

when you have a prebuilt like that, it will clock the processor when idling, and when the cpu clock goes down the multi/fsb generally goes down as well which would mean that the ram clocks itself lower.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

thanks guys! so i havent actually been ripped off then ?

why the **** is DDR dearer than DDR2 and 3 which i presume are newer technologies?
jimmymcma is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU?

no ddr is more expencive then ddr2 cuz its old, ddr2 is the cheapest.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to upgrade for orange box? ulater6000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-23-2007 11:24 PM
Is it getting time for me to upgrade? Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-04-2007 02:23 PM
Upgrade time!!!! Static_11 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-20-2007 01:42 AM
acer aspire 3000 video smearing bodeman71 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-16-2007 10:40 AM
Have some extra money, time to upgrade parts? Experts please advise King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-12-2007 08:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.