ACER Aspire 5253 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2012, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Slacking Guru
 
Slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: placetoplace
Posts: 306
Default ACER Aspire 5253

AMD C-50 1 ghz (in it now)

how hard is it to change out a cpu on a laptop?

I do not want to buy a new laptop just want to speed it up a bit..

running 8gb of ram win7

any suggestions?
__________________

Slacker is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ACER Aspire 5253

Is it in one of the bottom compartments?

If not, it's probably a few layers under the keyboard.

Understand, though, what CPUs you can upgrade to in a laptop, are very slight. a few 100mhz at best. No real gain.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Slacking Guru
 
Slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: placetoplace
Posts: 306
Default Re: ACER Aspire 5253

only a few hundred.....hmmm

I will have to double check but I do not think it is on the bottm...sounds like more headache than gain.... I don't wanna shell out for a new laptop....

what kind of change would something with that minimal of an upgrade cost?
Slacker is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ACER Aspire 5253

What are you using that is getting "slow"? If you mean like for gaming, that is your GPU that is lacking, most likely. And no, you can't replace the GFX card.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: ACER Aspire 5253

Honestly, I wouldn't go through the hassle of attempting to upgrade the CPU in it, because like MoM said, it will only be a VERY minimal gain in performance, could cost you a pretty penny, and will probably turn out to be a hassle. If you're trying to game on it, you may as well save up your money and build a desktop, or buy a laptop with a dedicated GPU.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 4820 HELP! TheHumanComputer Laptops and Notebooks 2 06-26-2011 03:58 PM
Need Help badly for my Acer Aspire Decka Laptops and Notebooks 3 03-18-2011 04:35 PM
what motherboard Acer Aspire use? PC magnum Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-26-2010 10:37 PM
Acer Aspire Timeline overlord20 Laptops and Notebooks 2 07-01-2009 10:48 AM
I am getting an Acer Aspire One Harper Laptops and Notebooks 14 12-11-2008 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.