AC '97 and IDE Adapter help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2009, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Snitched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Snitched Send a message via MSN to Snitched
Exclamation AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

Ok, I am currently constructing a build which I recently bought and I have 2 questions.

1. I just connected the HDA cable to it's correct plug, And there is a Wire branching off of it named AC '97. But I can't seem to find a plug for it, Can anyone help me? Is the plug in the motherboard? Is the plug optional, Necesary? Or is it supposed to be connected to power supply?

2. I have a plugin on the motherboard called IDE1, And I'm wondering, Was my Motherboard supposed to come with this adapter? What is it used for? and is that optional?

MotherBoard Model --

Biostar - T-Series/TA790GXB A2+

Thanks in Advance,

And if you need any information, Let me know!
- Dylan
__________________

Snitched is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snitched View Post
2. I have a plugin on the motherboard called IDE1, And I'm wondering, Was my Motherboard supposed to come with this adapter? What is it used for? and is that optional?
You are most likely using SATA Hard Drives and SATA Optical drives if you are asking that question. This is understandable considering that IDE is a dying technology.

IDE is the older type of connection that was used for Hard Drives and CD Rom. The motherboard manufacturer is just catering their products for the people that are upgrading thier older computers or comptuer needing ot be repaired. IDE interface might be yesterday's technology, but there are still a lot of computer out there that are using it.

In time, you will start seeing more and more motherboard coming out with no IDE interfaces at all. However coming from current trends, I don't see this happening for at least another 3 more years. Companies like Seagate and WD are still making IDE hard drives.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Snitched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Snitched Send a message via MSN to Snitched
Default Re: AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

So IDE is optional? Because I found the adapter to use, But I don't see anything it connects to.
Snitched is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

Yes IDE is optional, you would only use it to hook up older IDE Hard drives and optical drives. IDE is also a lot slower then the new SATA connection.

Question for keyboard Cowboy: can you hook up Both IDE drives and SATA drives in a PC, because IDE uses jumpers and SATA doesn't right?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

You can run both IDE and SATA drives in a pc at the same time.

Intel actually dropped IDE support as far back as the p35 chipset however manufacturers have continued to put IDE connectors on motherboards through the use of additional controllers.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: AC '97 and IDE Adapter help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snitched View Post

1. I just connected the HDA cable to it's correct plug, And there is a Wire branching off of it named AC '97. But I can't seem to find a plug for it, Can anyone help me? Is the plug in the motherboard? Is the plug optional, Necesary? Or is it supposed to be connected to power supply?
Many cases now have front audio ports with wires (I assume this is what you mean) that have connectors for multiple audio chipsets.

Just use the connector that matches your particular audio chip, whether it be onboard or addon. You don't need to plug both in.
__________________

Thilly is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.