About RAM... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default About RAM...

is this good ram? im thinking of going from

this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145480
(1gig - 2x512mb corsair value select ram)

to this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145527
(2gig - 2x1gb corsair value select ram)

im KIND of on a budget, i have like $550 in xmas money, and i have to save up the rest, and the comp with the 1gig ram is like $1013, so should i upgrade to 2gigs? i figured, with the 1gig being $86, and the 2gb being $150, im saving a bit of money, but is this worth it for playing world of warcraft and americas army?

by the way, i have a 3.4ghz intel processor and an EVGA 7800GT video card.
__________________

Phate is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

How many RAM slots does your motherboard have? And does it support dual channel?

And yeah, Corsairs a reliable brand.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Why dont you just buy another 2*512 instead of ditching your old ones.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

my mobo is:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131538

i THINK it supports dual channel, and i think it has 4 240pin ddr2 slots, but im not sure
Phate is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

in reply to the guy (sorry forgot ur name) that said i should get 2 more 512 sticks, this is a yet to be built computer im making. i got like 550 dollars in xmas gift cards/cash, so i decided to have that be the starting block of money for my new comp ill have to save up the rest in allowance/work. so im just wondering if i should get 1gig now and upgrade later, or just start with 2gigs.
Phate is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145527

that is awesome ram, go for it. Now you can play any game you want on all high settings, with that new 7800GT also
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

haha, ok cool. thanks a lot guys!
__________________

Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.