about fan connecters... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default about fan connecters...

connecting to the motherboard, what is there other then 3/4 pin.

i bought a fan recently (92mm for a dell), and it has 3/4, but so does a 120mm fan i bought earlier, and that ones connector wont fit into the plug. the plug is black, as is the connecter on the manufacturer fan, and its smaller then a 3/4. what kind of connector is this, and what fan would you recomend for that connection and a 92mm size, if possible.

if its more plausible to buy a new motherboard for this, i need these stats:

Socket 478

184-pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC3200)

connectors for 1 hard drive, 2 optical drives, and a floppy

anything else, please ask, ill figure it out to my best ability.

preferably PCI express x16, but i have an AGP card right now, so whatever you sudgest if you have a PCI mobo, plz sudgest a good video card that will beat a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 64mb ram

thanks a ton for all this info,
Phate
__________________

Phate is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

oh, and on my fan thats here now, there is the 3/4 pin, and a "generic psu" connector, that i dont know how i would use, but can i? it has a way to plug it in, but then it goes out again. any way to use this to plug the fan in? because that would save me the $20 spent on it (2day shipping)
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

maan, somebody plz help..

actually, the fan has 4 connectors, 2 regular ones with 4 holes, one with 3, and another smaller/thinner one with 3, i think it might work
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, im extremely confused. there is just one 3 hole connector ON the fan, but WITH it there is a thing with one big square connector with 4 pins inside, and one with 4 holes, and another very thing one that i think goes into the one on the fan...

HOW DO I HOOK THIS UP!!!
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, i think i got it up and running. before, i had a fan that was slower, but it had this air guide thing, it was an exhaust (pull air from inside to out) with this air guide pulling all air through the CPU's heatsink. now, do you think its safe to put the cover back on, with this new fan? i had the cover off because i upgraded to a 2gb ram (patriot signature) from a 512 stock ram... not really sure what to do
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 07:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, so i installed it, it works, and keeps the case pretty cool, but i have one question.

i couldnt get two of the screws fully in. only the 2 on the right side are in, the top left and bottom left are in only a little bit, because i couldnt get them to go in straight, they were going in askew, so i just put them in as much as they would go, and the fan still stayed mounted very tight (i cant even jiggle it at all). is this ok? will my fan break off and fly into the wild blue yonder some day?

-Phate
Phate is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 07:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

wow, nobody wants to reply at all....

so ill bump myself

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

err if the fan don't jiggle no reason for it to break, what else were you looking for? a mobo that has socket 478 + pci-e + ddr 3200 support? kinda lost track from all you'r posts.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

umm, well if i was to replace a mobo for the video card, would like this:

Socket 478 - processor
up to 2gb support 184-pin DDR SDRAM PC3200 - i have 2gb patriot signature, dont wanna replace that

and preferably a PCI-e x16 slot for video, because from what ive heard thats the best connection you can get right now, because right now i have AGP..

also, since this comes standard i believe, but just in case:

4 PCI slots, connectors for 2 optical drives, one hard drive, and a floppy, and no proprietary dell ****, i have a Fortron 400W PSU.

and i dont know what size it is, but i would ASSUME atx. i can check up on this if you would like

-Phate

P.S. thanks for finally responding
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Sorry dude but I can't find any good PCIE x16 Mobo for socket 478... only AGP x8 ones :/
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.