a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2008, 03:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Thank you guys for helping, the only thing is, i dont know how to overclock
plz tell me how? thanky you.
__________________

remedy is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Here is a step by step guide to overclocking.

HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.5.2
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Is building a comp from scratch difficult? I mean buying the parts from like, newegg and then putting them together? I would like to try to.
remedy is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

It's child's play, actually. The hardest part is making sure you have the cables all plugged it.

If you can follow a simple diagram, you can huild a computer.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 04:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Ok, what about installing all the drivers, like the USB drivers and graphics and all that? Im not sure if that is hard or what but i wouldnt want to make a crucial mistake
remedy is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 06:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

It's not hard. Once you install Windows you just install the drivers off of the CD that came with your motherboard and download and install the drivers for your graphics card.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 05:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Ah okay, and one mroe question [For now at least] Should i get Vista, or XP?
remedy is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 07:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

one more question, if i got a 2.6 ghz dual core processor, dows that make it 5.2 ghz? Ive always been a little confused about the quad core/ dual core thing..please explain? oh yea and is ibuypower.com a good website to build a custom comp? its user friendly so of course im gravitating towards that.
remedy is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

first question:
vista is cheaper for the most part (i believe, i could be wrong thought). also its more about personal preference.

second question:
you can't really add up the cores, its just multiple cores. if the program is designed to utilize (use) multiple cores, then it is kind of like having a 5.2ghz cpu (if you had a 2.6ghz dual core) again, i could be wrong but i believe thats how it works.

and personally, i would stay away from ibuypower only because they have somewhat more expensive prices, and its not hard at all to build your own computer from parts.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 03:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: a350n: Upgrade, Or NEED New Comp?

Any one else have opinions/answers on my questions, just so i get a broader view of things? thank you
__________________

remedy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
bro's comp upgrade m6qrp System Upgrades 1 10-13-2007 11:47 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Upgrade for my comp. MoBo, RAM, Cooling. cementshoes New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-30-2007 12:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.