_grading from Pentium D 2.8 to AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2007, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default _grading from Pentium D 2.8 to AMD

Hey guys, I'm looking at selling my current system and buying another one simply to make some money. However I'm not sure which system will run my games better (I'm playing Battlefield 2142 at the moment). I don't want to sell my current system and buy a new system if there's going to be a drop in performance.

---------------------------------------
My current system:

Pentium D (Dual Core) 2.8GHz
1.5GB of Generic DDR2 RAM
GeForce 7900GS
Sound Blaster Audigy Value



The system I'm thinking of changing to:

AM2 (Dual Core) 4200+
2.0GB of Generic DDR2 RAM
Geforce 7900GS
Sound Blaster Audigy Value

-----------------------------------------

If I sell my current system and change to this system, I'll make about $500 profit... is it worth it? Will I notice a drop (or even gain?) in gaming performance?

Does anyone have any better ideas?

Cheers,
Ben
__________________

Narpstar is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You will gain performance, but I don't think it's enough to be worth it. What you could do, is if your motherboard is C2D ready....sell your Pentium D, and get an E6300. Also sell your current 1.5 and get 2x1gb ram for dual channel. And if your motherboard is not C2D ready, sell the motherboard along with the Pentium D, and get a C2D mobo.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default

your performance will be a lot better, even better if u do what the guy on top says and get a C2D combo
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 01:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Hey guys, thanks for your help. I've been looking into the C2D E6300 and can't find any comparisons to the Pentium D 2.8 (which I currently have). I don't know much about CPU's these days...

Can you tell me the differences between the one I currently have and the E6300?

Cheers
Narpstar is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Narpstar
Hey guys, thanks for your help. I've been looking into the C2D E6300 and can't find any comparisons to the Pentium D 2.8 (which I currently have). I don't know much about CPU's these days...

Can you tell me the differences between the one I currently have and the E6300?

Cheers
The E6300 slaugters the pentium d. The core's are the fastest processors out right now.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 02:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Ok cool, so it looks like i can get an E6300 for not much more than the AM2 4200+... so I'd go with Intel. But what kind of motherboard do I need for it? I'm looking at the Gigabyte 8VM800PMD-775... would that be compatible?
Narpstar is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 02:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Nope, thats an old board. Go here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=280

any of these work.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 02:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

i love my X2 4400+. Its probably not as good in comparison to the C2D but its still pretty fast.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 03:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

... none of those available at my store... Gigabyte 945GZME-RH A-I-O Conroe?
Narpstar is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 06:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

That's C2D ready, but it's FSB is only 800/533 FSB, and the E6300's is at 1066. I think it will still work though.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.