| |_ Total CPU Upgrade _| | - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 04:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

I'm going to wait 6months to a year to get a new case and something thats DirectX 10 compatable. There's only one on the market right now and it's freakin' expensive! Bring on the competition!

I'm looking for some kind of neon light or two for the pc (which is green in color). I've searched newegg and the internet and have found nothing really.

Newegg only has 2, and they both have horrid reviews blaming electrical interference and poor insulation among other things for bad PC performance and even failure! Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Question about TV and computers. As stated in the first statement in this reply I'l b going with those videocards, the two Geforce 7600GT(s). I am pci-e'ing them.

My question is a while ago i used that circular TV out plug and plugged it into the rear of my TV which of course had the same adapter. HOW DOES THIS ACTUALLY WORK? It sends TV to the computer? I send the computer image to the tv? Either way, it didnt work for me a while ago when I tried!!

Anyone have any idea?
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 04:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GreenMachine
Question about TV and computers. As stated in the first statement in this reply I'l b going with those videocards, the two Geforce 7600GT(s). I am pci-e'ing them.

My question is a while ago i used that circular TV out plug and plugged it into the rear of my TV which of course had the same adapter. HOW DOES THIS ACTUALLY WORK? It sends TV to the computer? I send the computer image to the tv? Either way, it didnt work for me a while ago when I tried!!

Anyone have any idea?
you will be running them in SLI... PCI-express is the actuall bus that the card plugs into...

A side note WORTHY of mentioning is that you are going to be wasting your money getting 2 7600's and running them in SLI. You will be better off spending LESS money on a single card that will not only run as fast if not faster would be that it will possibly run cooler, and use less power.

Secondly, the port you are mentioning sounds like S-video out. You would use that to output the computer display to the TV... but, generally it looks terrible. I used to have a card connected to my TV, and it always looked bad. If you have have the means on your TV, DVI or HDMI are MUCH better for connecting the video card to the TV.

As far as watching TV on your computer, there are input cards that you hook the coax cable up to. I have TV on the media rig listed in my sig.... it watches live TV, and records tv also... I could use it to pause and rewind, but the setup isn't worth the hassle, as I wouldn't ever use the feature.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.