9600 Pro vs 9600 XT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 10:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

For the cards I really doubt youll see a large difference with todays games, id save my 30 bucks and OC it. It looks like the one doesnt have a fan, just a heatsink, you might wanna change that. What do you plan on playing, new stuff wont play very well on a 9600 (fear, doom3, quake 4) hl 2 will thoguh probably just because its such a good game for performance. Im ditching my 9800 tho and going for a 6800GS, I'll oc that thing see if I can get over 4.5k in 3dmark05.

One more thing, PZEROFGH The text on your sig is soooo hard to read.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 11:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Threepwood
For the cards I really doubt youll see a large difference with todays games, id save my 30 bucks and OC it. It looks like the one doesnt have a fan, just a heatsink, you might wanna change that. What do you plan on playing, new stuff wont play very well on a 9600 (fear, doom3, quake 4) hl 2 will thoguh probably just because its such a good game for performance. Im ditching my 9800 tho and going for a 6800GS, I'll oc that thing see if I can get over 4.5k in 3dmark05.

One more thing, PZEROFGH The text on your sig is soooo hard to read.
woah, the one you saw was my super old 32mb Riva TNT2 gfx card, the one with the heatsink. The XT I'm buying does have a fan. But I'm going to OC that thing like ****ing crazy. I'm gonna replace the stock fan and get some ramsinks.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Go for it. Id just say reformat ur pc when u do it. Ive got a friend with similar specs who didnt reformat after going from nvidia, to ati, to nvidia, to ati. His drivers are messed and it runs like garbage. yet he refuses to reformat
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

My last card was a Vision tec Xtacy 9600 256MB AGP, I could play BF2 on low-med settings very smoothly. I think if you had more ram BF2 would play allot better
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.