939 or AM2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default 939 or AM2

hi,
I need a new motherboard.It needs to be able to support SLI and ddr ram.
This seams like the perfect thing but its socket 939 and i want to be able to upgrade the proccesser in the future. So is 939 the way to go at the current time ? and if it isnt what mobo should i go for.
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...cturer_id=135#
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You should go for AM2 just because it's more current.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

can you recomend a mobo though that is AM2 and supports SLI and DDR ram?.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

No AM2 boards support DDR RAM.

However, there are good SLI boards.
KBlair is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

I don't really see a reason to get a AM2 mobo unless you want to use DDR2 memory.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Uh... try it's upgradable..?
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

i would go 939 its not that current but the prices are soooooo affordable u can a really good processor cheap though the reason being cause it is outdated by am2 still 939 is a good socket and it will hold til all this am2 drops in price cause witha whole am2 setup it will cost u almost twice the price of a 939 setup
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Uhh, prices are very similar between AM2 and 939...
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 09:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

AM2 except you will have to buy new DDR2 ram
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 01:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

yeah i can see why some of you guys think i should get a new am2 board but i really don't want to be dishing out £80 for some new ram (1gig).
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.