7970 black edition or not? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2012, 07:42 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Until there's proof that a patch fixes the problem we really don't know if it's a software or a hardware problem. I am quite sure that AMD should of been testing their new cpu with Windows from the initial testing to its final release. So this problem never should of risen and I'm not confident that a patch is going to help much.

Quote:
It's never going to run as fast as it could
That's 100% true at this time, the 7970 is going to run faster with a Intel cpu and it may still be true after the AMD patch.

If the Patch works and AMD takes the lead I'll buy one as soon as I get the extra cash, but I'm not going to recommend a product that might work great after a patch until it does work great.

Right now, if I was building a PC I would buy a PII X4 before I bought a FX-series or a PII X6, if I couldn't afford a Intel. But in reality I would buy the Intel and a slightly slower video card than a 7970.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 10:30 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 83
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

I normally use a galaxy s2 which doesnt lag on this website like the i(****) device. I was trying to type and the keyboard didnt keep up with me so instead of starting a new line it submitted the text. im on the s2 right now for eg. and i agree with your statement and the only reason id buy an 8150 was if i already had and am3 setup... from scratch however go intel it's the better option.
__________________

I_Am_Skip is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:51 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

You said you wanted this build to last as long as possible? Im not sure what the rest of your build looks like but the 2011 chipsets are the newest from intel. I would hate for you to build a computer on what is now a legacy chipset and not be able to update the cpu in a few years when you want or need more speed.
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 09:34 PM   #34 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
If your buying a 7970 then buying a AMD cpu is like deliberately bottlenecking it. It's like putting a Chevy engine in a Ferrari. Sure it will still run fast but it's never going to go as fast as it could. Buy a i7 2600K or a new i7 3930K and play with the big boys
Hold on back up a second. U saying Bulldozer bottlenecks the 7970? Care to explain ur statement?

UPDATE:

Just read some of ur posts. We will see how the upcoming patch does. Going from Phenom II x4 940 to this is a BIG upgrade for me n i feel special . The question is, have CPUs, whether Intel or AMD been bottlenecking GPUs for a while? GPUs r starting to do the CPUs dirty work n work off background stuff as well, thus freeing up the CPU a bit.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 11:19 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

i'm making a b rand spankin new computer. i'm still waiting on the 7970 to go back in stock 9 (Lol). I'm currently running Phenom II x2 555 BE with ATI 5850.

it just doesn't cut it. and my mom needs a new computer too (she has 4 laptops, each one over 4 years old) so slow. i feel bad

so i'm probably going to get 2500k or 2600k depending on my current monetary situation.


@Wildside. i have no idea if the CPU bottlenecks the GPUs. but i know what you mean when the GPU's are starting to do the CPUs work in the background.
flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 09:59 AM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 83
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Yea, after looking around, lga 2011 doesn't seem to have a very solid future. After Ivy Bridge-e the chipset looks dead. The lga 2011 socket seemed to branch off the original sandy bridge architecture.
Intel seems to have bigger plans coming early next year anyway, Lga 1150 for example. Since the 1155 platform compared to the 2011 platform for most tasks does a similar job, in a value for money sense I can't see the point of lga 2011 since it's future may only be 6 months longer than the 1155 platform.
I_Am_Skip is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:47 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
Hold on back up a second. U saying Bulldozer bottlenecks the 7970? Care to explain ur statement?
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipp1234567 View Post
@Wildside. i have no idea if the CPU bottlenecks the GPUs. but i know what you mean when the GPU's are starting to do the CPUs work in the background.
If you can overclock your cpu and your frames per second increase then you have reduced the amount of cpu bottlenecking your system is experiencing. When increasing the cpu speed no longer makes a difference then the bottleneck has been eliminated, or the cpu has just reach it's maximum capabilities. Just about every cpu made is going to bottleneck most modern high performance video cards, the trick is to buy a setup that produces the least amount of bottlenecking.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 83
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Thats correct. Otherwise gamers wouldnt overclock in the first place
I_Am_Skip is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 07:39 PM   #39 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
If you can overclock your cpu and your frames per second increase then you have reduced the amount of cpu bottlenecking your system is experiencing. When increasing the cpu speed no longer makes a difference then the bottleneck has been eliminated, or the cpu has just reach it's maximum capabilities. Just about every cpu made is going to bottleneck most modern high performance video cards, the trick is to buy a setup that produces the least amount of bottlenecking.
That seems to make since.

Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Am_Skip View Post
Thats correct. Otherwise gamers wouldnt overclock in the first plsce
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 03:19 PM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default Re: 7970 black edition or not?

Update! i ordered my 7970! it's not black edition though. i read up on it hearing that the fan's are quite good for stock model, and the overclocking abilities are ridiculous. i don't think black edition would be necessary. Thanks alot guys! it should be here tomorrow or the day after!
__________________

flipp1234567 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
560 Black Edition vs x4 840 atbyrd System Upgrades 0 10-25-2011 12:00 PM
OCZ AMD Black Edition? NatPc System Upgrades 9 07-14-2011 08:46 PM
NEW Phenom Black Edition at newegg. BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL New Systems | Building and Buying 32 01-14-2008 07:22 AM
Phenom Black Edition Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 30 12-24-2007 02:41 PM
Fs: Nfs Most Wanted Black Edition sbcirclepants Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 13 05-16-2006 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.