7900gt or 7800GTX? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 08:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

hey i already got the XFX 7900GT and just wondering can i change the cpu in the dell motherboard? beacause when i opened the case it looked like the cpu was integrated in the motherboard? and if can any idea what i can get?
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

Nevermind its not the thing i was looking at but which can i choose anyway?
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 09:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Coke27
k sorry this has nothing to do with the post i posted but think this will run crysis okish?
I believe Crysis requires a DirectX 10 card to run good (Or run at all), but I may be wrong.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 09:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

well you know what i could do later on just use my parts and get new case and a couple new things like mobo cpu so ya what do you think?
__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: 7900gt or 7800GTX?

Quote:
I believe Crysis requires a DirectX 10 card to run good (Or run at all), but I may be wrong.
reports are that if you can run FarCry on high you can play Crysis on low. therfore DX9 is fine. i don't know why people are so caught up in the "OMG as soon as DX10 is out i won't be able to play games anymore" crap. games continue to support the previous version of DX for quite some time.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 10:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 7900gt or 7800GTX?

7900 GT's can be voltmodded, and overclocked quite far
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 08:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default Re: 7900gt or 7800GTX?

sorry, but i have no experience on that can help?
__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 7900gt or 7800GTX?

Here's my 7900/7950 GT voltmod guide:
7900/7950 GT Voltmod Guide
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.