7800 gt XFX graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default 7800 gt XFX graphics card

i want to make my computer sli ready. i have a 7800gt xfx card now .but can i mix brand name in cards to make it sli ready as long as i keep it the same mbs ? or due i have to stick with the same name brand and gt modle to make things work ?
__________________

nejdl3 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I guess just as long as it's another 7800GT with the same amount of memory, it will work.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

As long as you have a SLI motherboard and the same type of graphics card (7800GT) it will work.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

so instead of an xfx card i can buy an brand card aslong its an GT and not an oc instead of a gt. is this right.
nejdl3 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

it has to be a 7800GT with the same amount of memory.....im not sure if the clock has to be the same or not. ill find out.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If you buy a card with a different clock, the higerclocked card should declock to the slower one.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
If you buy a card with a different clock, the higerclocked card should declock to the slower one.
compleltely true....so i say go for it
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

well i just got broke and order the 8800
__________________

nejdl3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.