6600gtagp->7800gt pcie upgrade! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default 6600gtagp->7800gt pcie upgrade!

I got a mobo that supports both agp and pci-e and my friend wants to buy my 6600 gt for full price =)
So what are your opinions on the upgrade? Money isn't much of a concern since I got alot from the holidays.
I just want to play on WoW on full settings without any problems of lag.
The 7800gt is enough right?

and also if I were to buy a 7800 gt which one should I get?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

What are the differences between the cards?
__________________

__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Get the first one. Cheapest and you get a free copy of Quake 4 with it.

Edit: Yes it will be enough to play WoW.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX
Default

The video card ill be getting is the 7800GT, and i plan on playing FFXI. that card will be able to run our MMORPGs and more no problem. thats probably the best investment for your usage.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
Asus M4A79XTD EVO
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
OCZ 600W PSU
DVD, DVD-RW, BD-ROM
ChrisX is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

the 7800gt will kick any game's butt. You don't even have to finish your sentance.

you: "Will the 7800gt..."
me: "yes."

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

is there a difference in performane though? or is it just pre-overclocked cards selling for more $$?
And also, would I have to upgrade my psu to support it?
Im currently running my 6600 gt with a 400w psu
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

not good.. The requirements say
"Minimum of a 450 Watt power supply"
god dammit..
I guess ill have to get a better psu also.
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
you: "Will the 7800gt..."
me: "yes."
will the 7800 gt get a score of less than 5 in 3dmark01?

haha jk...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

don't worry so much about the watt rating on the power supply, but when you're shopping, look for 25 watts on the 12v rail. And if it has dual 12v rails, make sure to take the amps it's saying and multiply times 2 (dual rails).

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

hmm, thats a rather bizzare thing for the people on TF to recommend, normally he would be recieveng, "NO YOU NEED A 600W PSU"
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 01:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Look for a good brand name PSU. Like Antec, OCZ, Fortron, PCPower&Cooling, I've also heard that Thermaltake are good.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.