6600 GT to a 6800 GT is it worth it? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2005, 09:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

keep the 6600GT. It's going to treat you just fine for a little while yet. Don't waste your money on an upgrade so you feel like you're stuck with that computer longer than you should be. Put that $250 to the side and label it 'new computer savings'

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 02:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

hey in about a weeks time they will release the 6800GS in apg so if you still want to upgrade just wait a little
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 04:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

omg the 6800GS is coming out in AGP WTF?!?!? i just bought a DFI UT NF4 ultra-D to upgrade to pcie16 LOL arg
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 04:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I doubt the 6800GS is going to be ported to AGP...it's an entirely different core from the other 6800s and nvidia has marketed the 6800GS to be very popular in SLI...so people have been buying two to SLI

That being said, the 6800GS is significantly less than the 6800GT and you can use that money and invest in a PCI-E board...would be a much better move IMO
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Cwood06
Default

yea i think im just gunna go with the 478 board with pci ex
Cwood06 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

dude you sig is too big
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I doubt the 6800GS is going to be ported to AGP...it's an entirely different core from the other 6800s and nvidia has marketed the 6800GS to be very popular in SLI...so people have been buying two to SLI

That being said, the 6800GS is significantly less than the 6800GT and you can use that money and invest in a PCI-E board...would be a much better move IMO
Agreed.

Cwood, your sig may look fine to you, but its WAY too big.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to kirbz01
Default

ppl i need some advice on upgrading to a 6800gs, but im pretty sure my cpu isnt good enough. Its a p4 2.8 and i only have 256mb ram left, and im also going to upgrade 1gb more, what would be that right processor/mobo and what type of ram for my gateway.
kirbz01 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 08:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Cwood06
Default

heh sorry maybe this one is better btw ill tell ya ho wthis system is doing now!

Upgraded to a Albatron Px915P4c Pro and a geforce 7800 Gt i did the HL2 LC Stress test got 55.61 FPS on that and i can play fear around 35% with mazium at 8x AA and 16x the other.

So i like the upgrade ^.^
Cwood06 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the AGP 6800 GS is crippled to 6800 GT clock speeds, but still has 4 less pipes.

when you upgrade, go to PCI-E. upgrade your CPU aswell, socket 478 is not good to be stuck on.

I would suggest at least socket 939
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.