6600 256mb or 6600 GT 128mb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2005, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default 6600 256mb or 6600 GT 128mb?

As the title states, I'm wondering if I should grab the 6600 256mb or the 6600 GT 128mb version. Price-wise, it seems the GT would be better, but memory-wise I'm not sure as to whether there's a big performance difference.

Looking at: http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...s-pcie-07.html would say the 6600 GT, but those charts don't show the 256mb version of the 6600 and I'm seeking a second opinion.

Ty-

------

I'd like to note I'm referring to the PCIe versions.
__________________

jadedchron is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 05:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 44
Default

6800 gt for sure imo...
__________________

RxLife is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 05:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Yea good call RxLife, considering the 6800 GT wasnt an option.

The 6600GT would probably be faster. One must learn that memory size for video cards does not mean jack SHlT if your card cant really fully utilize it. Just because they slap extra memory in doesn't mean it's going to be any better than it would be w/o that memory, it's pretty much just marketing to attact n00bs and people with cash to blow, no offense. I, as most of us, was once there myself.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 05:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

6600gt has more performance value for gaming then the 6600. A 6600GT will be your best friend for gaming.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well, that 6600 in the benchmark is a 256 meg card.

Anyways, the 6600 may have more ram, but the 6600GT has alot more speed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

6600GT.... More memory does not mean it's always better.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

6600gt is around twice the speed from the tests i have seen
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

6600GT is where you should go. The next step up from there would be a 6800GT.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.