64 bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default 64 bit?

what is the difference between 64 bit processors / operating systems and 32 bit ones?
__________________

__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

64bit is the new era....
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

like I couldn't figure that out with common sense..
any useful information?
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yea that pretty much shows the intelligence level of this forum. People rant off stuff that they heard somewhere else and have no idea what they're talking about.

Theres a lot of software inplications of 64-bit, mostly for business use. Basically, a 64-bit operating system can be thought of as a "stronger" operating system. Take Vista for example. In Vista you will have about 10 times as many features, just because you can. It also brings about other possible advances, such as the confirmed DX10 (though its not called that).
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

How can a 64bit system support more features than a 32bit system?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Its a totally new architecture. The more features also account for the huge amount of RAM it takes up (512MB for Vista?).
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Oh, sorry, I thought you were talking about r\the 64bit architecture, not Vista.

Too bad they won't include WinFS with Vista.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.