600w PSU won't run my video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2006, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default 600w PSU won't run my video card?

I just built a computer with a XFX 7950 X2 xtreme video card and I was having image tearing in all my games. (no modifications, latest drivers)
I have a 600w Enermax PSU that has 18 amp 12v rails.
I contacted the video card maker and they said my problem was most likely because I didn't have the required 22 amps on my 12v rails. I am RMAing this card and upgrading to 2 x 7900 GTX cards.
I guess I am wondering if running on 18 amps will damage the cards and if anyone else is running these cards on 18 amp lines with good or bad results?
I really hate the Idea that I may have bought a 600w PSU that won't work for my system.
__________________

gohip2000 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

What PSU do you have?

Also, did you remember to connect the 6-pin PCI-E power connector?
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Yes I remembered to hook up the PCI-E wire, everything is hooked up right and everything runs smooth with no crashes, but I still get tearing on games.
It's an Enermax cool & quiet 600w SLI approved PSU w/18amp 12v and PCI-E rails.
I also tryed using the adapter that came with the card to hook 2 different 12v rails into on PCI-E connector. It still gave the same results
gohip2000 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Sounds like the card itself... Not the PSU.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

well, The video card company doesn't thinks so. they think its cause I don't have sufficiant power (22amp lines) thy said 18 amps isn't enough. oh well, I think its the card, but I RMAed it for 2 x 7900 GTXs so hopefully they run perfect. no one has answered my question of, "is 18 amps on th 12v rails enough to run these cards without causing damage?
gohip2000 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

u try vsync? thats why i was getting tearing with F.E.A.R. but i hate that game.... anyways.....
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gohip2000
well, The video card company doesn't thinks so. they think its cause I don't have sufficiant power (22amp lines) thy said 18 amps isn't enough. oh well, I think its the card, but I RMAed it for 2 x 7900 GTXs so hopefully they run perfect. no one has answered my question of, "is 18 amps on th 12v rails enough to run these cards without causing damage?
I'm not sure on the specs, but if the card requires 22 amps then 18 wont cut it. It will cause a power sag (not getting enough power) which will cause it to become damaged. Same goes for if it requires 18 amps but your overfeeding it (power spike) and that willl also cause it to become damaged.

im not sure on that exact model card but usually thats the way it is with anything receiving power.

hopefully i was some sort of help.
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

well, I better get a new PSU and try to sell the other one. I would rather spend the money than take a chance on ruining my new 2 $400 graphics cards that i upgradd from the 7950X2. I guess I ned to look for one of thos rar PSUs that have 22amps going throught the 12v
__________________

gohip2000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.