Is this a 6 Pin Power Dongle? (Pictures indcluded) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default Is this a 6 Pin Power Dongle? (Pictures indcluded)

The video card I am looking into buying requires a 6 Pin power dongle. Now I assume by looking at the wires of the accessories for the card this is, but just to be sure, is it?


__________________

Howlz is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yes. But just for kicks tell us the brand and model of your PSU.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Hm just a sec, let me check.
Howlz is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Not sure. Bought this thing from gateway.. (Was a mistake too ><)
I can't seem to find it.. anyone have a program that will tell me?
Howlz is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well its from gateway then. Lol. It should be fine.

The only thing to worry about now is if the PSU is has enough wattage and amperage to power the video card your looking @.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Yeah, I checked, and it turns out I don't have the power supply needed
Howlz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Figures.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default

I guess I have a 300W Power Supply :/ I guess I could always upgrade. But, I plan on getting a new PC in a few months.. I guess I will have to get a 7600GT. Was planning on getting a 7800GT.. Oh well, I will have some extra money so I can afford some more RAM.
Howlz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If your buildiing a new one soon, just wait and save up.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

You might just wait on the video card upgrade then too. if you do a decent amount of game playing the graphics card you use is going to be the biggest factor in your performance and video quality and you wouldn't want to sell yourself short. Ram can always be cheaply upgraded later, video and processor can't. You might just want live with what you've got for a few months if you can. And I think a 7600gt wants 350 watts anyways.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.