512 worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default 512 worth it?

ok i had a tough decsision to make

a 6800 with 128 mb of mem gddr
or a 6800 with 512 mb of mem gddr2

will the 2nd be able to utilze the full 512 i plan on unlocking the pipes and shaders on it as well.
__________________

Ocer 939 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 06:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

give us some models and whatnot. It's not going to use all of that memory. There's cards in between there, not just those 2. The 6800GS is your best bet...

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Just ask yourself, "Am I ever really going to utilize what I've got?"

-Steve
SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.